We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very cute cottage. Good value - wouldn't stay for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017 Here's the view in the summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017
Here's the view in the summer
Our sitting room
Open fire makes all the difference!
The view on a Mediterranean blue-sky day down the beck from the front door
Our cottages are the location for the new BBC series Old Jack's Boat starring Bernard Cribbins
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea - we've got the only lawn in the village!
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea?
Wake up to this view
One of the most photographed and painted views in England is the view from our seat
The three cottages - No5 is on the left hand side
Artists regularly stay and paint from here - even the interior of the cottage
We discovered this Gill Carter painting by chance in a York gallery - the view from our sitting room
Looking over the lobster pots - view of the cottages up the beck from the staith
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the cottages
Dawn over the beck looking from the cottages
Wild water at the bottom of the beck
Staithes from the fields above
Sunset over Staithes looking north
We are at 5 Cowbar Bank, Staithes, TS13 5BZ
Bedroom
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left just above the bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Piaffe123...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cute cottage. Good value - wouldn't stay for more than 3 nights”
Reviewed 19 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my husband and our dog. Pros: The cottage was clean, very cute and with great views. We found it perfectly situated as it's not in the centre of the village but a short walk away. It is very nice and quiet (although perhaps we were lucky had nice neighbours! ). Cons: It's decorated in a very traditional and old style, so if you are looking for ultra modern, with brand new furniture then this isn't the place for you. The kitchen is absolutely tiny but it didn't bother us as we only stayed 3 nights. There is no enclosed outside space so, if you have a dog, it's a bit of a bother to take him out all the time. The parking is a pain. Would we come here again ? Definitely, but for no longer than 3 nights as it starts to feel a bit cramped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W3239YJju...
Bingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My wife, myself and our small dog stayed at no 5 for 3 nights towards the end of June and loved every minute in and around Staithes. The Cottage itself was well equipped, clean and tidy. Other reviews have mentioned the noise of a water pump but is actually the Saniflo unit which is fair enough and didn't
bother us. We have to congratulate the cleaners - it was nice to see the shower and WC mats had been washed & folded. The bedding was also clean and fresh with no signs or smells of any previous users!
The location of the cottage is perfect with parking outside for one car (beware the seagulls!). Just a short walk to the harbour and the excellent Cob and Lobster pub right on the harbour wall they do a superb full English breakfast most weekends. We also had a very nice steak cooked by as it turns out a local lad who actually grew up in the cottage next door to no 5 further up the hill. We had a walk a couple of miles south and found the Ship Inn which was a real oasis with to be honest one of the best beer gardens we've ever encountered and although not sure we're confident the nice lady who runs that watering hole
also has a hand in Dottys tea room in Staithes Soho we saw preparing for the following day around 9pm the evening before.
The thing we did wonder about regarding the cottage was the decked area at the rear found up the steps - it's not mentioned in the description but it really should be, there's view over the river towards one end but is perfect for a bbq or quiet coffee or wine. We will be returning again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostinpie...
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like a cosy pair of slippers!”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Returning to cottage number 5 this year was like slipping into a comfy pair of slippers. Yes, we have stayed here several times but the cottage charm still endures, and, it's quaint comfort lulls us into "Yorkshire mode" where we can relax and bask in the beautiful view, whilst sitting on the front. Yet within minutes, we can be up on the stunning coastal paths. It doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't, with many original features. The Village eateries are all within walking distance and offer an equally warm welcome, good food and ale (dog friendly!). The owners, and their representatives in the village, know how to keep a clean house, and very happy guests! We are already looking forward to our next visit....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamthegar...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is absolutely lovely and the location is amazing. We would definitely stay here again, sitting by the fire is definitely one of my happy places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Pleased you loved the cottage - it feels so cosy perched on the hill in front of the fire of an evening. We'd be delighted to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobO114
Stainton, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed in number 4 cottage for a weekend break, the cottage is on the north side of staithes known as cowbar, there is parking outside the cottage on the road although you do have to park close to the house or you can park literaly 2 minutes away near the lifeboat station, all for free with the permit you get in the cottage, You will struggle to park in staithes itself with most cottages not having any parking, the cottage has a very warm feeling about it with its low wooden beamed ceiling and small compact living room, the heating was on when we arrived but we soon turned it off and lite the real fire, the bed was very comfortable and the whole cottage was extremely clean, we had no intention of doing any cooking as we love the food in the cod and lobster pub which is a 5 minute walk away. The cottage is perfectly situated, we would walk 5 minutes over the foot bridge to the cafe for a bacon sarny then head up the cliff paths heading south towards runswick bay, stunning views from here, we love everything about the cottage and we will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
majeffery
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I had a lovely short break in the cottage with my daughter. The cottage is lovely. Staithes is lovely. The fire pack is great value for £5.....definitely have it, because sitting in front of the fire on a cold winter night is heavenly. Wonderfully cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing