We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal pet-friendly base for exploring local area”
other travellers have booked this property
Peeler's Rest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peeler's Rest
Lounge area Peeler's Rest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Peeler's Rest
Lounge area
Peeler's Rest
Lounge Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen area
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Explorati...
1 review
“Ideal pet-friendly base for exploring local area”
Reviewed 9 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Ideally situated at "top" of Staithes with its own off-street parking. Short (though steep) walk to harbour with small sandy beach and dog-friendly pubs and tea shops - all serving good food. Superb scenery/views to enjoy in the local area. Short drive gives access to dog-friendly sandy beaches, e.g. Saltburn, Runswick Bay. Plenty of good walks without needing to drive. Short drive gives walking access to several local attractions, e.g. Cooks Monument, Roseberry Topping, Scaling Reservoir.
This small property was clean, well equipped and run by a friendly and helpful owner (Lee).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review and so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again! Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector...
1 review
“Great holiday home, very dog friendly.”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

2nd short break at Peeler's Rest this year. Contains everything you need, clean and tidy. Lovely walk down to sea front, big hill back up. Close to shops for provisions. Short drive to other beaches or Saltburn On Sea. The dog loves all of it. Happy to stay here as a single traveller.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
Was great to see you again and thanks for the great review. Hopefully we’ll see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
2 reviews
“A conveniently situated, compact holiday apartment with off-road parking.”
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My wife and I used this apartment as a base to visit family and friends in the area. Small but well-planned, it had everything we needed for a short break. Staithes is a lovely old fishing village with a steep access road down to a picturesque harbour. Peeler's Rest is conveniently situated just off the A174 with only about a ten-minute walk down the hill to the village centre and beach (maybe a bit longer coming back up!). It is a few minutes walk from a Co-op food store (very handy) and there is a fish & chip shop opposite (closed while we were there). Private parking for holiday cottages seems to be rare in Staithes so we felt privileged to be able to leave our car in a designated, off-road place immediately outside the door of our apartment. The apartment was clean and comfortable; the shower tray had black mould around the seals but I think this had more to do with limited ventilation than a lack of cleanliness. Lee was there to meet us (he lives in the adjoining house) and was very accommodating with our arrival and departure times. We enjoyed our visit immensely and hope to repeat it in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2018
Thanks guys for the great review and so pleased you enjoyed the stay. The shower is top of the priority list....it’s finding a period of time without bookings to do the job that proves difficult. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Mar...
1 review
“A really lovely place that has everything you need.”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The two of us and our doggy had a lovely stay. Perfect base from which to explore the North Yorkshire Moors and coast. The cottage had everything we needed and the owner was the perfect host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
Was great to meet you guys. Pleased you had a great time. Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location ”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Had a lovely holiday at Peeler's rest. We arrived earlier than expected as had allowed extra time due to a road closure. The place was already and Lee let us in early to unload. Headed straight off down the road for a light lunch at the tea room opposite the visitors centre.
Peeler's Rest is ideally situated. Short walk down a steep hill to the harbour. Round the corner from the bus stop and 5 mins to the co-op.
Had everything we needed. Excellent shower. Plenty of hot water. We didn't cook as ate lunch out but the facilities were there. It was clean and tidy. We couldn't get the DVD player to work initially but a member of the family happily helped out.
I couldn't find a visitors book to write in but things we did were
Walked to Hinderwell and had lovely breakfast at the Runcible spoon. Walked back through the woods.
Day at Whitby. Had fish and chips at Magpies.
Day at Saltburn on Sea. You can walk along the river.
Did part of the Cleveland Way from Staithes to Runswick Bay. Had a sandwich at the tea garden owned by Ann. Great little place.
Walked up Roseberry Topping and the Cooks monument, also part of the Cleveland Way.
Also had great cheese scone at Dotty's in Staithes.
We were very taken with Staithes and hope to have the chance to visit Peeler's Rest again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Thanks for leaving such a great review! You certainly packed a lot into your week. Hope to welcome you both again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces5...
1 review
“Everything you could need.”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Such a lovely cottage with everything you need. Friendly owner who would do anything possible to help. This is the perfect place to stay when exploring what The North Yorkshire Moors has to offer. Doggy had a great time too. We are already talking about going back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2018
Thanks for your lovely review and kind words. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianeBRot...
rotherham
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had a lovely weekend staying at Peelers Rest.Lovely and clean with everything we needed ,would stay here again in the furure

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Thanks guys for the lovely review. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing