We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, perfect, perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pelican, Staithes

view of our house from across the beck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of our house from across the beck
stylish lounge with double doors to dining room plenty of seating and woodburner in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
view of our house from across the beck
stylish lounge with double doors to dining room
plenty of seating and woodburner in lounge
modern shower room on 2nd floor
well equipped light kitchen
plenty of space for 8+ to eat
one of the king bed rooms
pretty twin room with lovely views
the other twin with views across the beck
the largest king sized room
the beck at the back of the house
view of pub from top floor window - not too far to walk!
sunny and spacious bedroom
open up doors for open plan living/dining
traditional lobster pots. local crab also a speciality
view from our back gate
beautiful and unique Staithes
the view just out the back
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ally2008A...
1 review
“Perfect, perfect, perfect”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a truly wonderful stay at Pelican, the attention to detail is fantastic and really made our stay perfect. Thank you so much for the birthday welcome treats too. We will definitely be rebooking and would highly recommend others to do so too

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
We're so pleased you had a great birthday in Staithes. Pelican is perfect for a special occasion isn't it?
Hope to see you back next birthday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logistica...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Well appointed, great location.”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very clean, nicely furnished and well equipped. I would stay here again without hesitation. Outside space is small but there are very few places in Staithes with any at all. Two minutes to the harbour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
It is lovely to have a private deck and space for a barbecue. Thanks for the great review. Do come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacBojang...
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic - a lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our third holiday to Staithes in the last two years, and Pelican is far and away the nicest property we have stayed in. It has been beautifully modernised and well equipped, and is light, airy and spacious - plenty of room even with eight people staying.

The North Yorkshire coast was a cold and windy place, but Pelican was always warm and cosy - a combination of efficient electric radiators, underfloor heating a wonderful log burning stove saw to that.

A nice touch was the complimentary bottle of wine and box of chocolates on the table as we arrived, as well as fresh daffodils. There was also fresh milk and eggs in the fridge.

Parking is very limited in Staithes - essentially there isn't any for visitors (as our son is disabled and has a blue badge, we were able to park outside the house all week as the wardens were kind to us, but this is rare exception). However, there is a loading bay just outside Pelican which makes things easier.

As usual the people of Staithes made us feel very much at home - particularly the lifeboat crew and the people who work at the Cod and Lobster. A very peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

Thoroughly recommended. We have already booked to return to Pelican next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick one thing...it was outstanding across the board
Liked least: See above.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Do come back soon. Staithes is always worth a return visit and I'm sure we'll fit you in (-;
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julia F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow from the first moment!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was an opportunity for family and a life long friend to relax for a couple of days in the idyllic setting of Staithes. As the cottage is only a breath away from the sea, a stroll to the local pubs and easy access to the coastal path this was perfect.
Inside, the cottage is light, spacious and beautifully decorated with a fully equipped kitchen ensuring we had everything we needed to make our stay feel luxuriously relaxed. Sleeping arrangements worked perfectly with two spacious bedrooms on the first floor and a bathroom, and the same on the top floor - so it enabled privacy and little congestion in the mornings! The communal space on the ground floor was beautifully designed with a fabulous hi-tech sound system and lots of original art work. One felt we were in a much loved home rather than a holiday cottage and this really did enhance our stay. We are now trying to find a time we can visit again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything - really !
Liked least: how short our stay was
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the property and the cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing