We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newburgh House - Coxwold
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$516
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
81
28
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
28
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurham oxoverlooking the gardenlocal countrysideb bhome baked biscuitsgreat plansenglish countrymuch needed breaklovely villagelovely open firefauconberg armstea traybeautiful propertyprivate bathroomattending a weddingporridgebooked a table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Beautiful house and garden but we found the hosts cold, unwelcoming and terse. As we've looked online retrospectively, we saw others had similar comments.

Beware any seemingly helpful offer to use the washing machine as you'll be hit with a 25 pound bill without being told the exorbitant price beforehand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruceandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

When Maria & Bruce left our Guest House after a 2 day stay , they said they had very much enjoyed their time with us and thanked us for all the help and information we had given them. They wrote in our Visitors Book " Lovely Home & Lovely Hosts " .
Sadly they must have changed their views when they arrived back in Australia and sent us an e-mail complaining about the charges we had made for doing their laundry. (The cost of which was shown clearly on their bill). The charges we made were purely to cover our own costs , paying our housekeeping lady for extra hours & for materials & machine costs.(which we later refunded to the guests)
We are sorry they find it necessary to relaliate in this vindictive manner.
In our opinion this reveiw violates the guidelines of Tripadvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights - a long weekend Autumn break. We had a very large room with windows on three sides, lovely furniture and a very comfortable kingsize bed. We couldn't fault the cleanliness, warmth, breakfast choice and helpfullness of the owners. The rooms and landings have a nice variety of artwork. During breakfast the view is out to a lovely walled garden, not at its best in October but well tended, with lots of small birds feeding on a good supply of nuts. We ate in the village pub - good food with some folk singing entertainment, and two further pub/restaurants that the owners recommended. You'll need a torch when you return at night - its very dark! There is much to see nearby. We visited Riveaulx Abbey, Ampleforth Abbey, Rural life museum in Hutton-le-hole, Byland Abbey, walked on the moors and went across to Runswick Bay for a walk along a super beach. All within easy reach! Newburgh House was a great place to stay. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and loved it. Newburgh House is beautiful,fullof lovely furniture and pictures,with a really wide ,gallery like 1st floor landing. Our room was very spacious and immaculate-all details thought of including China cups and fresh milk for tea and coffee.
Hostess Suzy is very welcoming and clearly takes pride in doing things the right way. Breakfast was as good as any we have had--in a lovely room looking out onto a beautiful walled garden. My fiance was poorly on the first night and missed her breakfast. Suzy provided a tray with tea and toast and marmalade for her to have in our room--very much appreciated. Coxwold is a lovely village-with an excellent pub where we ate one night. There are many places to visit nearby-including York-where we used the park and ride only 25 minutes from Coxwold. We wished we had stayed for longer

Room Tip: We had the very large room at the front-with a huge bathroom which felt like a dressing room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiraOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed one night on business. This B&B feels like a large cosy house. I didn't speak much with the hosts but booking was straightforward. My room was very big, with a big bathroom and spotlessly clean. It did feel a bit out of date, though, with a small cathode-ray-ube TV and carpeting in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the road outside very quiet.

It is a little out of Coxwold, which is the nearest place you can get supper or a drink. Bring a torch if you want to walk home at night. The road gets extremely dark.

Breakfast, overlooking the garden, was tasty. I'd have preferred not to have had Classic FM playing in the background but that's just me: I'm sure they know their market.

I'd stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kakistoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

So pleased you found our house cosy and comfortable.. Just in case you decide to visit us again and I hope you will !! You didn't really have to walk into the village for a meal and drink...we serve dinner and supper every evening but guests do need to book prior to arrival . Some do prefer to stretch their legs after a long journey and we provide torches in the porch at the from door for this purpose ! Apologies for the old TV !! All our old TV's are being replaced this week due to digital change over.. I think I would be most unpopular if I switched classic FM off as the majority of our guests love to hear it !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this B&B weekend of the 14th September. The B&B is set just outside of the main village high street, within walking distance if you choose to. The village itself is stunning and very peaceful with a very nice local pub and restaurant.

Newburgh House is a very pretty building with a well tended garden. It's full of character and the welcome was very friendly and warm (especially for the owners little dog). We were asked to fill in our breakfast menu and leave it downstairs in the evening. The room was very warm and cozy with lots of period features. The bathroom was large with a bath and an over bath shower. There was plenty of hot water and clean crisp towels. The bed was comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep.

The breakfast is served from 8-9am and there is plenty of choice including fresh juice, cereal, fruit, full English etc. The service was friendly and prompt and the breakfast room overlooked the pretty garden- a lovely way to start the day.

Some of the facilities do look a little tired such as some wall paper coming away in the bathroom, the very small archaic TV etc- however, we did not go away to watch tv and overall I liked the rustic feel to the accommodation.

We would have loved to have stayed a little longer to explore this beautiful part of the world and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews