We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWBURGH HOUSE, COXWOLD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Ranked #1 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEWBURGH HOUSE, COXWOLD”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just spent two nights at Newburgh House. My husband and I are fortunate to have had the opportunity to travel worldwide so we feel most able to comment on our recent stay with Suzy and Colin. We can only reiterate strongly most of the comments. We stayed in the 'suite' - a lovely huge room with adjacent bath/shower room which had fantastic views from all windows and a comfortable settee and chairs. Usually I'm a poor sleeper in a 'strange' bed but the king sized bed with its spotlessly clean, soft bed linen was bliss. Breakfast, overlooking a beautiful well kept garden, was delicious. Suzy was very helpful advising us where to visit and supplying little maps. The newly opened Birds of Prey Centre at Duncombe Park, Helmsley is well worth a visit especially when watching the flying demonstrations. Byland and Rievaulx Abbeys were awesome. Suzy recommended 2 pub restaurants and booked us a table at one of them - The Durham Ox. We had an excellent meal there with live music. Thanks again Suzy - really hope we see you again soon. Geraldine and Ken, Barnsley

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    23
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
71
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned home after a much needed break and wedding anniversarytreat. Peaceful house and surroundings, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast (I judge a breakfast by the quality of the poached eggs!). Suzy went the xtra mile and more. She booked a table for us at a pub in a nearby village (anniversary dinner) and the food certainly did not disappoint and suggested that we leave the car and return by taxi because she was more than willing to drive us back in the morning to collect the car. That is real service and hospitality. I would certainly recommend this B&B to any body wishing for a peaceful break and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realmealsdelicatesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My fiance' and I spent 2 wonderful nights at Newburgh house.
We had a fantastic time. The house is beautiful with lots of character and was so cosy and homely and its location is peaceful and idylic.
The beds were extraordinary comfortable and the quilt and pillows were lovely and soft my fiance could not stop commenting on them!!!
The owner Suzy was very welcoming and an excellent host very attentive.
Several choices for breakfast, we opted for the full English which was one the tastiest ( think its all locally sourced) fantastically belly busting breakfast ever!!! it kept us going til late afternoon.
We enjoyed our stay so much we're thinking about booking it again for our honey moon next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carliss b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

If you require a short break in a peaceful and relaxing rural setting,with a 15minute stroll to village and pub, along a country lane,a host in suzy who is friendly and takes care of your needs,then Newburgh House is the place for you.Large cosy well decorated room (Red Room)are a bonus.No need to use the car if you prefer just to walk and relax,as the adjoining priory has acres of woodland, gardens and lake to explore and enjoy.at certain times of the year..

Room Tip: red room 3 windows differant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gantleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Newburgh offers just what a country house ought to offer, it is pretty well the perfect example for the genre:
Newburgh is located in idyllic and tranquil surroundings. It is furnished in that timeless style combining solidity with comfort and taste. The bedroom was roomy, light, clean and warm. We slept like tops. The pre dinner drinks in the welcoming sitting room were generous and unhurried. We dined well on home cooking in the cosy and pleasant dining room,because Suzy is a good cook. Breakfast was equal to dinner with lots on offer and well prepared and unhurried. All in all, it was like staying with well to do friends in the country.

This was the best experience of our six days in Yorkshire by far. Agreeable, very agreeable..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here 1 night absolutely stunning place so relaxing breakfast was the best if you want somewhere to unwind this is the place for everyone, we Even took our small dog muffin and she was treated so well.we will be returning again very soon to unwind from the hussle and bussle of life, Suzy the manager was very welcoming.. A must stay in coxwold. Mike Bovey .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Myself and my husband stayed 1 night on April 18th having received a voucher for a present. We were upgraded on our arrival to a lovely room with a view over the adjoining lake, It was spotlessly clean and so quiet and restful. Our breakfast the following morning which we chose from a varied menu the night before was excellent and we sat at our table watching all the birds and squirrels in the lovely walled garden. The hostess couldnt have been more obliging and I would definintely recommend Newburgh House.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#3 of 3 in Coxwold
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Byland Abbey Inn
Byland Abbey Inn
#2 of 3 in Coxwold
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coxwold Tearooms
Coxwold Tearooms
#17 of 23 in Thirsk
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shallowdale House
Shallowdale House
#2 of 2 in Ampleforth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newburgh House - Coxwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newburgh House - Coxwold

Property: Newburgh House - Coxwold
Address: Coxwold YO61 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newburgh House - Coxwold 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Newburgh House - Coxwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newburgh House - Coxwold Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing