We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Ranked #1 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely old house, which is full of character, had spacious well-kept gardens and located in a quiet country area. The owners, Suzy and Colin were most welcoming and very friendly. Their local knowledge was amazing and very helpful to us.

The rooms were lovely, very well furnished, comfortable and clean, as was the whole house. Breakfasts were delicious and personal choices were always met. It is clear that the owners give much attention to detail.

We would recommend Newburgh House to anyone seeking a relaxing holiday and wishing to have a lovely, friendly place to stay. Bob & Liz

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very welcoming, so pleased we picked this lovely house to stay in with our gift voucher.
Fabulous house so kind of Suzy and Colin letting guests share their home.
Room spacious and spotless. Breakfast excellent. Oh and Maisy the dog gorgeous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent spacious bedroom with seating area. Tea and coffee provided with beautiful China cups. Rooms well decorated with added touches. Bathroom huge again with good quality toiletries provided.
Huge choice for breakfast even kegere on request. Would I recommend this hotel I definitely would.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just spent two nights at Newburgh House. My husband and I are fortunate to have had the opportunity to travel worldwide so we feel most able to comment on our recent stay with Suzy and Colin. We can only reiterate strongly most of the comments. We stayed in the 'suite' - a lovely huge room with adjacent bath/shower room which had fantastic views from all windows and a comfortable settee and chairs. Usually I'm a poor sleeper in a 'strange' bed but the king sized bed with its spotlessly clean, soft bed linen was bliss. Breakfast, overlooking a beautiful well kept garden, was delicious. Suzy was very helpful advising us where to visit and supplying little maps. The newly opened Birds of Prey Centre at Duncombe Park, Helmsley is well worth a visit especially when watching the flying demonstrations. Byland and Rievaulx Abbeys were awesome. Suzy recommended 2 pub restaurants and booked us a table at one of them - The Durham Ox. We had an excellent meal there with live music. Thanks again Suzy - really hope we see you again soon. Geraldine and Ken, Barnsley

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeraldineF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned home after a much needed break and wedding anniversarytreat. Peaceful house and surroundings, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast (I judge a breakfast by the quality of the poached eggs!). Suzy went the xtra mile and more. She booked a table for us at a pub in a nearby village (anniversary dinner) and the food certainly did not disappoint and suggested that we leave the car and return by taxi because she was more than willing to drive us back in the morning to collect the car. That is real service and hospitality. I would certainly recommend this B&B to any body wishing for a peaceful break and excellent service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank realmealsdelicatesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My fiance' and I spent 2 wonderful nights at Newburgh house.
We had a fantastic time. The house is beautiful with lots of character and was so cosy and homely and its location is peaceful and idylic.
The beds were extraordinary comfortable and the quilt and pillows were lovely and soft my fiance could not stop commenting on them!!!
The owner Suzy was very welcoming and an excellent host very attentive.
Several choices for breakfast, we opted for the full English which was one the tastiest ( think its all locally sourced) fantastically belly busting breakfast ever!!! it kept us going til late afternoon.
We enjoyed our stay so much we're thinking about booking it again for our honey moon next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carliss b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

If you require a short break in a peaceful and relaxing rural setting,with a 15minute stroll to village and pub, along a country lane,a host in suzy who is friendly and takes care of your needs,then Newburgh House is the place for you.Large cosy well decorated room (Red Room)are a bonus.No need to use the car if you prefer just to walk and relax,as the adjoining priory has acres of woodland, gardens and lake to explore and enjoy.at certain times of the year..

Room Tip: red room 3 windows differant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gantleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
6.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,637 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#2 of 3 in Coxwold
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shallowdale House
Shallowdale House
#2 of 2 in Ampleforth
50 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Stapylton Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newburgh House - Coxwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newburgh House - Coxwold

Address: Coxwold YO61 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range: £95 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newburgh House - Coxwold 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Newburgh House - Coxwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newburgh House - Coxwold Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing