We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessentially English”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Ranked #1 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quintessentially English”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We were given an overnight stay as a present and extended this to a weekend; we knew the area from our youth but staying here is something else. It's the most wonderful area, the countryside just alive in Spring. Suzie Bell made us very welcome and the house is simply gorgeous; we took the Kingsize room and loved it. The open windows allow the sounds to engage the senses; the birdsong was amazing and when the honeysuckle flowers, the smell will complement the experience. The breakfast completes a more than ample package and we'd have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank notjustapainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
How kind of you to take the trouble to write such a lovely review.. thank you so much .

We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future and try a few more of the super restaurants we are lucky to have so close by !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    22
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burscough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Too notch B&B. Breakfast menu is plentiful and varied.

The room was spacious and very comfortable. The best sleep we've had while away from home.

Friendly folk and a great location from which to explore the North York Moors.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a positive review. much appreciated .
Good luck with your new magazine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Warning- Do not hand over your credit card number when making the booking- we did, BIG MISTAKE. We booked a room with a double and a single bed in May for a 3 night stay in September. When we arrived to a very chilly welcome from Mrs Bell we found the single bed was an airbed! Worse still it had a puncture. Mrs Bell suggested we could pump it up and if that didn't work we would have to sleep in the double. This was not what we had booked and we decided to leave and find alternative accommodation. It was not until we were carrying our bags out that a replacement bed was offered.
On returning home after our holiday I found the full charge of £324 for the 3 nights accommodation and breakfast had been taken from my credit card account. A number of attempts to recover this money have proved to be fruitless. This leaves a sour taste in the mouth, however, we found an excellent B&B at Ryedale House in nearby Helmsley where we were looked after extremely well. If you are going to this part of the world go to Ryedale House and definitely not to Newburgh and remember the golden rule " never give your credit card number when booking accommodation!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
These ridiculous and inaccurate and comments are precisely why Hotels/Guest Houses request credit card details to confirm bookings !!

David C requested an extra bed in his room when booking one of our Premier rooms with a King sized bed. the extra bed, most favoured by previous guests is an expensive John Lewis ' 4' complete Divan Airbed ' which can be inflated to the firmness required by the guest..
A normal divan bed is available on request. Unfortunately on entering the bedroom with Mr & Mrs C , it was noticable that the airbed had lost pressure :- this obviously could be resolved.
Mrs C said on entering the room initially, that the King sized bed in the room was similar in size to the one which they used at home.
A short time later , because I was preparing dinner for other guests , I broke off to go and check with Mr & Mrs C , in order to help them regarding their sleeping arrangements. I was on my way upstairs and was met by a very angry rude, loud unreasonable Mr C - the likes of which I have not experienced in my many years in the hospitality industry . my offer to replace the airbed with a normal bed was refused and Mr C stormed out of the house with his wife following shortly after.
Fortunately we had a very charming couple( also from Somerset) already staying , who had really wanted a room with a walk-in shower as well as bath ...I moved them into Mr C's room for the rest of their stay . They were thrilled and said the room and facilities were wonderful.
With respect to all common mutual courtesy , Mr C should not have had the opportunity to degrade or affect the expectation of our standards of care to future customers .
It has been clearly demonstrated and reported over many years that we extend high standards of friendliness and care to our customers without prejudice .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We surprised the owner who wasn't expecting us, but soon sorted things and warmed the room rapidly. Room overlooked the road but was quiet. The breakfast was good overlooking the garden. It is a beautiful house and would be beautiful in summer rather than November.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a positive review. much appreciated .
Good luck with your new magazine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from one night at Newburgh house, it was beautiful, nothing is too much trouble for them.
Fabulous room, really comfy bed (we have already e-mailed the bed company for a price on their mattresses) and yummy breakfast.
Thank you Suzy, Colin and the lovely Maisie.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hellyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Last year our daughter,s xmas present was a gift voucher for "The Finer Things in Life"
We finally got round to using the voucher in early November,and we chose a nights stay at Newburgh House,Coxwold in North Yorkshire,
This turned out to be a very pleasant stay in a lovely old house,very tastefully furnished and we felt very relaxed as soon as we arrived.
We were met by the owner Susie,who welomed us warmly and showed us to our room,which which was comfortably furnished and had a large bathroom.
Next morning we had a superb breakfast in a room overlooking the garden,the breakfast menu had many choices,our selection proved to be top quality ingredients,nicely presented and very tasty.
Our thanks to Susie,and we look forward to returning in the future

Room Tip: Our room.is set aside for people using the voucher from "The Finer Things in Life" and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A beautiful old character house and by far the most welcoming guest house we've been in; Suzy and Colin were just brilliant nothing was to much trouble; fantastic breakfasts; tips on sightseeing and restaurants and all round friendly hosts.we came here by default after not getting accomodation in York and was the best stroke of luck we've had in accommodation ever! we even stayed a couple of extra nights. Fully recommend Newburgh and the Bells to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room second on the right from the top of the stairs, quite, well furnished and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
0.0 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.0 mi away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#3 of 3 in Coxwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byland Abbey Inn
Byland Abbey Inn
#2 of 3 in Coxwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newburgh House - Coxwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newburgh House - Coxwold

Property: Newburgh House - Coxwold
Address: Coxwold YO61 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newburgh House - Coxwold 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newburgh House - Coxwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newburgh House - Coxwold Yorkshire - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing