We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay...everything you could...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Midwood Cottage in Alnmouth with garden, parking, bike shed, and tree house. 4 Star Gold rated.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Midwood Cottage in Alnmouth with garden, parking, bike shed, and tree house. 4 Star Gold rated.
Patio area in the woodland garden
5 minutes walk to Alnmouth beach.
Open plan lounge kitchen diner with dish washer and washer drier. Free WIFI and Netflix
Midwood Cottage open plan lounge kitchen diner with dish washer and washer drier. Free WIFI
Lovely super king size bed with en suite shower room. TV in bedroom.
En suite shower room in the Cottage
Large shared garden with tree house
The river Aln - 5 minutes walk to the estuary and beach.
View to Alnmouth from the estuary
The pretty painted houses of Lovaine Terrace in Alnmouth. You can see themfr om the train.
The beach at Alnmouth, paradise!
Our tree house
Car port for our Cottage guests
Sun in the garden
Sunny patio with tree house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alnmouth, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sweetie3
Southampton England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay...everything you could possibly want!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

10 of us from 65 yrs to 3 yrs stayed and had the lodge and cottage.What a lovely place to be!Huge lounge in the Lodge that could accommodate all of us and a huge garden,great while we were there as the weather was lovely.Thanks to Louise and Christine for a lovely welcome tray....we got two as using both properties!Great home made cake and lovely cookies and wine!This place has everything and more....two minutes from the bus stop...five minutes from the amazing beach.Some lovely pubs with good food. Castles just up and down the coast.Seaside villages a few minutes drive.We live on the south coast and the beaches are tiny and its like sardines!Alnmouth beach is massive with a huge tide and rock pools,great for kids.Windbreaks are provided,fold up chairs,kites,sun loungers we used them all.The Northumbrian Coast is amazing and Midwood lodge and cottage will meet all your expectations! Excellent!Julie and co x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baphead
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Beautiful cottage, lovely extra touches that made it a real home from home. We will be back. Book it you won't regret it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Catherine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most perfect UK holiday imaginable”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our holiday on the Northumberland coast was absolutely wonderful thanks to the care that owners Christine and Louise took with every aspect of our stay. The Lodge and Cottage (we booked both for our large family) have been furnished and kitted out with more thoughtfulness than anywhere else we have stayed in the UK. It's as if the owners have prepared it for their own families with lovely furniture, a gorgeous wood burner with a plentiful supply of logs and extremely comfortable beds. I did some cooking with my small grandson for our Halloween party and everything we needed was supplied in the kitchen, including baking equipment. The cottage has a great garden, including a tree house and a tarzan swing for the children. Every morning when we woke up we were delighted to look out into the garden and see pheasants and rabbits looking back at us as we drank our morning coffee.
The cottage is located just a short walk (5 minutes) from the most magnificent sandy beach and the owners kindly supplied fishing rods for the adults as well as beach play equipment for the children. Alnmouth village itself is lovely and we bought fish and chips to take away from the local pub, which we all awarded 10/10 for deliciousness. We had them with the wine Christine had left on our welcome tray. Every family member has asked if we can go back next year as this cottage is easily the nicest we've been to in the Northumberland region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just how beautiful, clean and well-equipped the cottages were.
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the week.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Korky7
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Alnmouth hideaway!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend. The cottage is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of Alnmouth where there are a number of good eating options for those not wanting to cater for themselves.

The cottage itself is well equipped with everything you could want. For those that do cater for themselves there is the use of a dishwasher to make the washing up easier. The full description of this cottage is on their website but it really is one of the best we have stayed in. The tray of treats left by the owners was a nice touch and included some Northumbrian cake which was quickly eaten! The wine was much appreciated also.

Good communication with the owners made this a trouble free transaction. Fully recommended and when we visit Alnmouth again we will definitely try and stay at this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient location, fully equipped with excellent parking facilities.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again. My mum, Joan makes our home made cakes and she will be delighted that you enjoyed it. We love Alnmouth too and it is such a great base for exploring the beautiful Northumberland coastline. Thank you once again we really appreciate your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing