We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hooked Restaurant

Hooked Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Offering a menu that changes with the seasons and comprises the very best produce all freshly cooked to order, chef David and his family look forward to welcoming you to Hooked situated on the main street in the lovely coastal village of Alnmouth. Check our website where you can book online and find the most up-to-date information regarding opening times and menu or visit us on Facebook and Twitter for more news, views and photographs.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at The Saddle B+B in same building which gave us a 10% discount. Excellent meal with two fish specials as our main courses. Well cooked and presented. Tasty food with good portion size.
Particularly enjoyed the crumble dessert, a well balanced dish with good vanilla custard and lemon sorbet.
Service was well paced and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plowst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    73
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ate here this week while on holiday in Alnmouth (which seems to have an amazing array of eateries for such a small place!). We loved it. The food was great and the service efficient and friendly. Would definitely recommend this restaurant - we would eat there again if we didn't have to go home tomorrow - boo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jroxcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local endorsement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We live in the village and it took us a while to get around to visiting Hooked. Should have booked earlier as outstanding meal, and service with a great Craik fom the staff. A really excellent night and will be returning soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison315984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
395 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A superb restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ate here on 2 nights having specifically come to Alnmouth to try Hooked & we were not disappointed. The menu is modern British with a twist. The portions are good sized and we noticed that when a couple opted to share a starter an extra portion was added so it was an equal share! The staff are friendly & helpful & want you to enjoy yourself. The wine list is small but good. We both had steak one night and it was superb. The tartiflette is lovely but filling, so no room for dessert! We would highly recommend Hooked and will hopefully eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saabaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed a few nights in Almouth and decided to give hooked a try on our Wedding Anniversary with a couple of friends, Luckily we had booked as this little restaurant seems very popular and after eating here we know why. The service was excellent friendly and lighthearted without being 'in your face' and the food was nothing short of superb. My wife had mussels followed by Sea Bass and I decided to risk a steak. I say risk as I like my steak rare and getting a good rare steak does not happen very often. This was perfect so good I had to compliment the chef. We live 150 miles away but have already recommended this little place to all our friends who live within a 340 mile radius and we will be back ... for Alnmouth and for Hooked

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magpieranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hooked Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hooked Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing