We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel, excellent service, brilliant food, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Lovely little hotel, excellent service, brilliant food, great value”
Reviewed 17 October 2008

My wife and I had a absolutely lovely stay at The Saddle. Nothing i need to say really, we enjoyed every minute of it. Lovely little hotel, beautiful surroundings, Northumberland is so nice. The staff we so helpful and friendly, the food wonderful and we just had a great time.

  • Liked — The Staff and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfield081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    75
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
146
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Stayed here with my wife while visiting places of interest in the area.The rooms were clean & comfortable but outdated.(We did know the rooms were outdated before we booked).Could not fault the food.The breakfasts were ample & very hot,the service was quick.The food in the bar of an evening was very good & the service quick although one evening we were given the sweet menus & then they forgot to come back for our order for 20 minutes.The helpings are large & they do smaller helpings.Unless you have a large appetite i suggest you take the smaller offer.
The breakfast staff were very friendly but you got the feeling that the bar staff/evening staff were just going through the motions of being polite.
The bar was a problem.Even though we were residents we were refused bar service at 10.25pm on a sunday night.The lady who dealt with us was quite off hand."Closing time is 10.30pm on a sunday"A group of staff & others had just started to play poker in one corner of the bar so i guess this was why they wanted the paying guest out of the bar.
Other nights the bar was closed at 11pm.
This hotel needs to remember who is paying their wages.I have never been refused a drink as a resident at 10.25pm anywhere in the world.

  • Liked — Food was good
  • Disliked — Bar closing times
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steele-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBX, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

Our trip to Alnmouth was planned around seeing the Alwick Castle. I knew that Alnmouth was along the North Sea, but I had no idea how beautiful the town or the people would be. It's just like your Grandmother's home. Sure it could use a little upgrading, but their web site told you right out, "It ain't the Ritz." The staff was wonderful, the food was great and even the town's people were warm and friendly.
We went on to see other places and things in England, including London; but my husband and I would return to The Saddle Grill and Alnmouth in a heartbeat. It was the highlight of our journey.
LissyOBX

  • Liked — The staff were very friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — The mattress should be upgraded.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LissyOBXNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2006

My husband and I were travelling back from the Highlands after my friend's daughter's christening, and we had hoped to stay in Alnwick as we'd heard interesting reports about it. We hadn't been aware of how popular the place would be on a Saturday night and all places were fully booked, so having visited a few websites before travelling, we called the Saddle Hotel and were pleased they were able to fit us in. The manager who took our call was extremely welcoming when we arrived, and even offered to carry our bag upstairs. We were feeling very tired after our long drive, and having inspected the room before agreeing to take it, we already knew it was below average. What I would say is that it is a good enough place to crash for a night. They also have a restaurant downstairs, which although it looks like a step back into the 70's, yielded delicious, good-value meals. I had their house curry, which was pleasantly spicy and fresh, while my husband had a Yorkshire pud filled with roast chicken and veg. Both meals came to under 15 pounds together, excellent value. This morning the breakfast was excellent - buffet style for the cereal, fruit, juice and coffee/tea, and then a number of cooked options including local kippers. The cooked breakfasts were served piping hot on warmed plates. Although the food and welcome were excellent I have rated this place as average for the full package as the room was tired - wallpaper hanging off the walls, shower didn't work properly, and the bed was rock hard. I felt it was steep at 38 pounds per person for B&B but the delightful location a stone's throw from the Alnmouth Beach and Northumberland Heritage Coast made it an ideal base for visiting Holy Island 20 miles away. I reckon if they were to update this place it would be diamond class. Good luck to them all for trying hard.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
9.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,019 reviews
8.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saddle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddle Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 25 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saddle Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast on the main street near to the church in the lovely coastal village of Alnmouth. We have a residents' lounge with snacks, fresh milk and other beverages. We also have a small car park to the rear. We have 8 en-suite rooms all with tea/coffee facilities, central heating, flat screen TV/DVD/Ipods. We have a secure area for bicycles, cater for Vegetarians and packed lunches are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Saddle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saddle Bed And Breakfast Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing