We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place You'll Want To Return To!”
Review of Bilton Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bilton Barns
Ranked #6 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, Chshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Place You'll Want To Return To!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We must have stayed at Bilton Barns six or seven times and the place still leaves us wanting to return for more! We cannot rate this B&B highly enough - its location, the standard of accommodation, the breakfasts and the hospitality on offer are all five star. It's such a wonderful place in an idyllic location with fantastic views across the fields to Alnmouth and the coast, and ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of the country with so much history wrapped up in it!

The bedrooms in the farmhouse are spacious and beautifully appointed. Catherine's Barn (one of three self catering units adjacent to the main farmhouse) sleeps four and has two bedrooms and a bathroom on the ground floor and a spacious living/sitting area and kitchen on the first floor. Such a great place for relaxing after a day exploring the countryside!

If you stay here on a B&B basis, you will not be disappointed with the breakfast! It really is worth taking your time to enjoy the freshly prepared local fayre on offer. Breakfast is held in the dining room around a large table - a great opportunity to chat with other guests and exchange information on places to visit and things to see and do.

We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this gem of a place to anyone - it's the type of place you'll want to return to again and again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Bilton Barns is far enough from any roads or town for perfect peace and quietness, and yet so well placed for prolonged exploration of such a beautiful coast line. In just a few days we took in visits to 5 nature reserves, Dunstanburgh Castle, Cragside and wonderful walks along the coast. It was clear that a great many other attractions nearby could have kept us busy for longer. The rooms are amongst the most spacious of any bed and breakfast that we had stayed in. The large comfortable double bed, the views out to sea, the local walks and the great breakfast to start the day were all that we could hope for. We are grateful to Dorothy for her warm hospitality.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have a wonderful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

having enjoyed a weekend in the farm house we decided to try the self catering cottages we stay in the one called Emma.very cosy bed room down stairs to the left as you walk in with a bathroom connected by a door in the bedroom.the you go up a spiral stair case to a lovely room with everything you need for your stay(only thing missing no wi fi)but that did not spoil are stay,large flat screen tv full kitchen with dish washer micro wave hob and oven.you can use a washing machine in the out house if you wish.You can have a breakfast if you want in the farm house and what a breakfast you get loads of different cereal fresh fruit yogurts full Northumberland toast and home made jam.

on top of that Dorothy your host will tell you anything you want to know about the area we have booked for a week next year. if you go you will not be dissapionted

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Situated just outside of the charming coastal village of Alnmouth, this Farmhouse B & B with self catering cottage's is a real find. We stayed in the farmhouse in the four poster room absolutely perfect. Beautifully decorated with fine views over fields out towards the sea and coquet island. The decor is elegant and antique style, spotless shower onsuite with arran toiletries and the fluffiest towels. On arrival we were greeted by Dorothy who was friendly, professional and offered refreshments on arrival, tea and biscuits served in the delightful garden.
We enquired about taxi's into Alnmouth and were amazed when our hosts offered us a lift into the village and gave us numbers to arrange transport back! Thank you so much.
The bed is extemely comfortable, the shower powerful and with plentiful hot water. The nightout in Alnmouth was lovely with a nice meal in the Red Lion. Taxi back was provided by the very amiable Yellow Taxi's. A fantastic night's sleep was followed by one of the best breakfast's ever.
A huge array of cereals,yoghurts, fresh fruit, juice etc. Toast and local preserves and choice of cooked breakfast including kipper's and porridge. Every item on the menu traces it's local providence such as the eggs from Mrs Riddle and their location. The food is cooked to perfection by Dorothy. As A veggie i can vouch for the poached eggs. My partner said he would gladly pay the cover charge for the sausage alone! praise indeed. We have stayed at some five star hotel's which cannot match the service and quality provided here. I can't wait to return or recommend highly enough. Thank you Dorothy and Brian, look forward to seeing you agian soon.

Room Tip: Four poster fabulous, however self catering look great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We've been back again! We have stayed at Bilton Barns a number of times now and would highly recommend it. Bilton Barns benefits from a peaceful position in the countryside with attractive views out to sea yet is also within easy reach of nearby villages, places to eat, sandy beaches, castles and many other local attractions. The large bedrooms in the farmhouse are beautifully furnished and decorated and the beds are very comfortable. The entrance and hall areas have also just been refurbished and are lovely. The hosts are very welcoming and are happy to help in any way - their breakfast is second to none with fresh fruits and yogharts and a cooked breakfast made to order which is exceptional. I am sure we will be back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Fantastic cottage, lovely sea views, furnished to a very high standard with attention to detail. Spacious living room and very comfortable beds. Very friendly, welcoming and accomodating hosts.
Excellent position for exploring surrounding areas, very close to pretty village and great beach, short drive to Alnwick.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We took the 3 linked cottages Stephen Brian and Dorothy for our large extended family and it was perfect. The enclosed garden was a godsend for the smaller children. Plenty of room for all of us to gather together in the kitchen/lounge and 2 toilets in each cottage. French doors at the back made coming and going simple and safe. Dorothy and Brian were very helpful and the cottages were comfortable and relaxing. Plenty of parking out front - again very safe. Also stored our bikes in the shed. Nearest big supermarket by the back road was Sainsbury's at 10mins. Alnwick is lovely but traffic was slow! Alnmouth 2 miles away is delightful as is Warkworth along the coast. Lots to see in the area. We had poor weather but it didn't stop us all thoroughly enjoying our stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
7.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilton Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilton Barns

Property: Bilton Barns
Address: Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilton Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm based B&B and self-catering accommodation near the magnificent Northumberland Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bilton Barns Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing