We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxur”
Review of Bilton Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bilton Barns
Ranked #6 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Menston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxur”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in the B & B for one night whilst cycling the coast and castles route. Although a little way out of Alnmouth itself, we would definitely recommend staying at Bilton Barns. Our room was beautiful and we had a lovely view of the coastline from the bedroom. Dorothy was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble, she even gave us a lift into Alnmouth, which we did not expect at all.

Our bikes were safe, locked away in the barn and after a long day cycling from Newcastle, a stay here was just what we needed. After a wonderful night's sleep, we enjoyed our huge breakfast and the company of other guests at the dining table. We will definitely be back, but for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkmscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I flew from Switzerland to walk the Northumberland Coastal path. Our stay at Bilton Barns was the last night of an incredible week and we were thrilled to finish our holiday here. Bilton Barns is set in beautiful countryside on the outskirts of Alnwick which, itself, is a charming historical seaside town with a variety of superb places to eat and a breath-taking coast with sandy beaches.

We received a genuine warm welcome as if we were part of the family. The farm house is extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated with period furniture and features. We were offered a spacious room with a very comfortable four poster bed, views overlooking the garden and coast and a power shower en-suite.

There is a lovely guest lounge which was lit with a cosy wood fire. Breakfast was also outstanding and everything was beautifully presented on a well laid table.

Their 5 star rating is well deserved. We would dearly love to stay here again and think that you really should too. We most highly recommend Bilton Barns!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8Br10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have been visiting Bilton Barns for many years and for the past few visits have stayed in Jackson's Cottage in Alnmouth. A really comfortable two bedroomed cottage with the bedrooms downstairs and the living space upstairs with a fantastic bay window looking out towards to the sea. You couldn't get a more perfect view. The cottage is really clean, comfortable and cosy and well equipped and the beds are really comfortable. Located in the centre of Alnmouth it is perfect for walks on the beach or eating out at the local restaurants/pubs. Alnmouth is also ideally located for exploring the rest of Northumberland's delights. Fantastic spot couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfingers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds west yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Visited for 2 nights B and B at the beginning of October.
Dorothy greeted us straight from ploughing the fields in the tractor and provided tea and cakes.
Nothing appeared too much trouble.
Very large immaculately clean bedroom with sea view over fields. Lovely seperate en suite with large free standing bath and huge shower cubicle.
Good idea for all the guests to eat around one large table. Got everyone talking.
Brilliant full English...............didnt eat another meal until 6pm.
Couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent one night here and wished we'd booked for longer. We were greeted with tea and cakes on our arrival, which was most welcome. Then taken to our fabulously decorated bedroom with beautifully comfy four poster bed and sea views. Slept well as it was so peaceful and given an amazing breakfast the next morning. I wasn't sure I was going to like sitting at a large table with eight other strangers but it proved to be perfect. Many thanks to Dorothy the owner. This is an excellent B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Had a great time staying in the Emma suite last week. The kitchen area was very well equipped and to a high standard.
Large comfy bed and peace and quiet ensured plenty of sleep. The shower was very good and there was a small bath with unlimited hot water which was very welcome after walking the hills and coast during the day. We booked breakfast in the farm house on our last day, best breakfast I've had in a long time. We'll be going back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pammy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a find! This was one of our best ever B&B stays. The room overlooking the sea was spacious, clean, and immaculately decorated. Dorothy was a fabulous hostess - she couldn't have been friendlier, more welcoming, or more helpful. She made our baby feel very welcome as well. Breakfast was delicious, too. Excellent value for money - we paid almost the same amount for a dingy room in a motel the night before. Go!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomofWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
9.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilton Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilton Barns

Property: Bilton Barns
Address: Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilton Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm based B&B and self-catering accommodation near the magnificent Northumberland Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bilton Barns Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing