We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven”
Review of Bilton Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bilton Barns
Ranked #5 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little haven”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Di and I stayed in Emma's Suite for 3 nights which was perfect for us. After a long exhausting day we made full use of the kitchen facilities and had supper at the dining table with the wonderfuol view to the coast and watched DVDs on large screen TV. Superb breakfast at the house with all locally produced food, served by the very friendly Dorothy. This was our first trip to Northumberland, but we will be back. Just one thing - would have liked to bring my little dog Bertie so he could have enjoyed the fantastic beaches as much as we did!

Carol Stampl

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I were given as a Christmas Present, a weekends stay in Emma's Suite. We arrived after an long drive and were welcomed by Dorothy with an invitation to have a cup of tea or coffee which was gratefully accepted.
Emma's suite is well appointed, comfortable, warm and welcoming. The view of the coast from the upstairs window was superb. After settling in, we enquired about somewhere we could have our evening meal. We went to the recommended pub and were not disappointed.

Breakfast was huge and taken with the other guests at the dining table.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We appreciated the warm friendly welcome from Dorothy.

Would we stay there again? You bet! We will go again at the first opportunity.


A Gibson
Wing Commander RAF Retd

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sikander508188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in Catherine's Suite for one night and were really pleased with it (this is a self-catering suite which sleeps four). It was clean and had pretty much everything we needed: nice big fridge, oven, hob, microwave etc.The cottage was super warm and the views from upstairs are magnificent. We walked into Alnmouth and into Lesbury. There's a bit of road with no pavement but otherwise it's an easy walk to Alnmouth- about half an hour. We didn't meet Dorothy but we corresponded before our visit and she was very accommodating. Overall, we were very pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenS497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in the B & B for one night whilst cycling the coast and castles route. Although a little way out of Alnmouth itself, we would definitely recommend staying at Bilton Barns. Our room was beautiful and we had a lovely view of the coastline from the bedroom. Dorothy was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble, she even gave us a lift into Alnmouth, which we did not expect at all.

Our bikes were safe, locked away in the barn and after a long day cycling from Newcastle, a stay here was just what we needed. After a wonderful night's sleep, we enjoyed our huge breakfast and the company of other guests at the dining table. We will definitely be back, but for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkmscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I flew from Switzerland to walk the Northumberland Coastal path. Our stay at Bilton Barns was the last night of an incredible week and we were thrilled to finish our holiday here. Bilton Barns is set in beautiful countryside on the outskirts of Alnwick which, itself, is a charming historical seaside town with a variety of superb places to eat and a breath-taking coast with sandy beaches.

We received a genuine warm welcome as if we were part of the family. The farm house is extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated with period furniture and features. We were offered a spacious room with a very comfortable four poster bed, views overlooking the garden and coast and a power shower en-suite.

There is a lovely guest lounge which was lit with a cosy wood fire. Breakfast was also outstanding and everything was beautifully presented on a well laid table.

Their 5 star rating is well deserved. We would dearly love to stay here again and think that you really should too. We most highly recommend Bilton Barns!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8Br10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have been visiting Bilton Barns for many years and for the past few visits have stayed in Jackson's Cottage in Alnmouth. A really comfortable two bedroomed cottage with the bedrooms downstairs and the living space upstairs with a fantastic bay window looking out towards to the sea. You couldn't get a more perfect view. The cottage is really clean, comfortable and cosy and well equipped and the beds are really comfortable. Located in the centre of Alnmouth it is perfect for walks on the beach or eating out at the local restaurants/pubs. Alnmouth is also ideally located for exploring the rest of Northumberland's delights. Fantastic spot couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfingers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Visited for 2 nights B and B at the beginning of October.
Dorothy greeted us straight from ploughing the fields in the tractor and provided tea and cakes.
Nothing appeared too much trouble.
Very large immaculately clean bedroom with sea view over fields. Lovely seperate en suite with large free standing bath and huge shower cubicle.
Good idea for all the guests to eat around one large table. Got everyone talking.
Brilliant full English...............didnt eat another meal until 6pm.
Couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
7.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,250 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel
#11 of 11 in Alnmouth
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilton Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilton Barns

Property: Bilton Barns
Address: Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilton Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm based B&B and self-catering accommodation near the magnificent Northumberland Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bilton Barns Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing