We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old boys hike”
Review of Beaches

Beaches
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaches
Ranked #10 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2012

we were 5 middle aged men on a 3 day walking break.first impressions are like going back to the seventies.no shower,very dated furniture,but if you get over that donald and his wife are brilliant hosts.very good breakfast,which sets you up for agood days walking,and as a winter special we got 2 evening meals ,all for 100 pounds!maybe not the place if you are looking for a romantic break but for us it was perfect,many thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonTeaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We'd been hiking down the coast in heavy rain all day and were barely in the door when Donald offered to dry out our wet clothes. That set the tone for a wonderful stay. A delicious and reasonably priced dinner was followed by a full breakfast which set us up nicely for the next leg of our hike. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights, a long weekend. It was our first trip to Alnmouth which has a wonderful beach and a good selection of places to eat and drink for a village, although you need to book tables because it's a popular destination. There are great walks to be had on this coast and it is all very dog friendly . Beaches is really nice and Donald made us feel very welcome. It is relaxed and informal. We shall be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freshairfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and two friends stayed here this weekend. The owner was there to meet us late the first night and was very friendly and made us feel at home straight away.

It's not plush and is a little like staying in someone's home but that is the beauty of it, the owners are kind and friendly and very easygoing, they mentioned that they are doing refurbishments in the near future which will only enhance the property.

The rooms are big and very clean, the breakfasts are superb, we didn't get a chance to eat dinner there but a full lobster for 19.95 sounds good to me. They buy a lot of local fish and local ingredients and as they don't have a licence you can bring your own beer/wine.

In an era where customer service is lacking 'The Beaches' is the place to go, i call it old fashioned customer service and i mean that as a compliment, these properties/owners need to be supported as they add hugely to the community, Alnmouth is a lovely village with some great pubs and cafes. We will be back with our children, no doubt about that.

Room Tip: Park down the lanes as opposed to the main street. If you like real ales, this is the village for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rhysethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed a night at Beaches as part of a walking trip on the Northumberland coast. We arrived wet through and muddy and immediately recieved an offer to dry our clothes. The beds were comfy, the breakfast was excellent, and the owner was extremely helpful and friendly. The village of Alnmouth is really pleasant and this is a top notch guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scruffyduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Some of the previous reviews seem to us harsh. We write as having stayed here several times and having occupied some of the rooms that attract such criticism. This time we stayed in the main bit, in the room opposite the village store/delicatessen. It is fair to say that this room is fresher and more modern. It is in fact thoroughly satisfactory. We assume that the other room in this bit must be equally good. It is true that if you want to watch a huge flat screen telly in bed, you can't, but why is this supposed to matter? The owners are friendly and civilised. Breakfasts are good and generous. The restaurant room is appealing and atmospheric, particularly in the evening. The evening meals are now simpler than they were, but this is still good cooking, and the ambience, intimacy and friendliness of the owner make for a very enjoyable experience. It is a plus that they do not have a licence and you bring your own wine (though don't buy it from the store opposite - mostly poor/out-of-date bottles). The Beaches is also good for children (and dogs).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lamachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Stayed July/August 2010 and would definitely return. We liked the warm welcome, the wide bed in the room overlooking the (quiet) main street opposite the deli, the hot bath after a day`s walking, the location just minutes from the beach, post office, bus stop, (most of ) the pubs & restaurants along the High Street (though Beaches are a great restaurant themselves), the old stone cottagey feel of the building, the great Full English & fruity breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KayMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Hope & Anchor
The Hope & Anchor
#3 of 11 in Alnmouth
276 reviews
0 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nether Grange
Nether Grange
#8 of 11 in Alnmouth
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel
#11 of 11 in Alnmouth
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches

Address: 56 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Beaches Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing