We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service”
Review of Beaches Restaurant

Beaches Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The food and atmosphere of Beaches restaurant in Alnmouth is excellent. Located in the main street, it would be easy to miss but has apparently been running for 28 years. Book in advance so that you're not disappointed as the restauant only accommodates about 20 people. When we visited it was open towards the end of the week only but maybe there are more nights available in season.The atmosphere is friendly, informal and cosy. The service is superb, warm friendly, attentive but relaxed and unhurried. The menu is written up on a huge blackboard. The fish is fresh and cooked to perfection. We enjoyed a selection of seafood as a starter and a delicious hake risotto.The home made apple pie and custard was melt in the mouth!
The Beaches is not licenced and there is a small charge for corkage. A three course meal for two with coffee was under £70. A real treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    21
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting place and good food.”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Beaches is something of a novelty. Inside it is a large room with 'seashore' decorations, and the menu written on boards round the walls. The food is very good. Not, perhaps, the most excellent but tasty, delicious and well-cooked, and at a reasonable price. Guests need to take their own alcohol (there is a small corkage charge). Sea food options are very good - fresh and excellently cooked. If we had been in Alnmouth longer we would definitely have returned.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CupCaketheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quite simply - perfect!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

On a girls' weekend away, we were looking for somewhere special - but affordable. And we found it! From the lovely feeling that we had been warmly welcomed into our host's front room, to the friendly chat while our wine (bring your own) was poured to the fabulous atmoshere and, of course, the top-notch food. My dish of lobsters, prawns and salmon was cooked to perfection and my friends enjoyed equally delicious dishes. So glad we stumbled across this gem of a restaurant in Almouth - will definitely be making a return visit. And I suspect we will still be chatting about Beaches when even we can no longer describe ourselves as girls!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday Traet”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Eaten here before, and it didn't let us down.
Food was as good as the last time and very reasonably priced
Nice, relaxed atmosphere - best place to eat seafood in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddlepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been here before and had a great meal on our last visit to Alnmouth but have struggled to get in again, however we were able to get a table at the end of our holiday.
Quite simply it is a brilliant restaurant, the decor is 'quirky' but has character. We had an assiette of seafood each to start which was devine. For our main course we had lobster and prawn thermadoor and fresh vegetables which was superb and both had sweets which were excellent. Coffee and mints. It is a 'B Y O' bring your own wine so this keeps the price down. Travel is one of our hobies and we have eaten round the world but this is a 'top 10' for us. The owner is really nice and friendly and we had a long chat at the end of our meal and he was happy to recommend other restaurants in Alnmouth!
If in Alnmouth do give this a go, you have to look when it's open but do try and you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaches Restaurant also viewed

 
Alnmouth, Alnwick
 

Been to Beaches Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing