We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different experience.”
Review of Beaches Restaurant

Beaches Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very different experience.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We all thought the experience quite different in that there was only seating for about 20. Reservations are a must. We took our own wine ( Corkage £2 per bottle) The service was excellent and could not be faulted. We had the Seafood Bisque as a starter with some granary bread. It was very tasteful and creamy but a little salty for my liking. One of us chose the crab cake for main which was rather on the cool side but the cooked chips were golden and hot. The rest of us chose the 'shell off' lobster, prawn and lobster. This was delicious but again a little too salty. (Ask of a spoon!)
If you like to try something a little different then Beaches in Alnmouth is a must.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    21
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond delicious!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beaches is such a wonderful little restaurant. It had such a great atmosphere to it and such character to it. The food was some of the best seafood i've had ever. I had a seafood bisque to start and the most amazing fish fillet pieces for main. It was just so great. I wish we could go back everyday!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in Alnmouth and just chanced upon Beaches and phoned to book - they only had an early table which suited fine on this occasion. They don't have a drinks licence so you will need to bring your own wine and pay corkage. The intimate dining room can seat about 24 max on about 7 or 8 tables and is dressed in a nautical/fishermen theme. We started with a seafood bisque followed by lobster thermidor and fish in sauce dish. Both came with a selection of fresh vegetables in an adjoining dish. No space for puds on this occasion. All the food was excellent and the service was attentive and prompt. If you don't like fish this isn't the place for you but surely this restaurant deserves better than 7 out of 12 eateries in Alnmouth?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chriswh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Whenever we come to stay in Alnmouth (which is most years!!) we always like to visit Beaches. We visited last night as the start to our holiday and what a fabulous meal we had.
I had the seafood bisque to start which was amazing, hubby had lobster & prawn in a sauce which was equally as good.
I then opted for the shell off lobster and scallops in a Thermidor sauce, hubby had the Amble smoked haddock & ling, both were really really tasty.
I couldn't manage a pud, but hubby managed the meringue with strawberries & raspberries and ice cream which he thoroughly enjoyed.
Such a fab little gem of a place and it was lovely to chat to Donald at the end of the night.
We'll definitely be back !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bozzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Joined up whiting”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We'd originally booked in here for the start of our holiday. A guide dog was among our party and we were informed that as a large group of possibly noisy golfers were in that night, perhaps might not be the best atmosphere for the dog. We all felt this was extremely thoughtful. We collared Don in the street towards the end of our stay and managed to get a table for the next night. We weren't disappointed. Yes, the menu is small, but that's no bad thing. Food excellent. Matching cutlery? Who cares.
They look to be fully booked most nights, there's a chalk board outside giving availability for a few nights ahead if you just go on spec.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaches Restaurant also viewed

 
Alnmouth, Alnwick
 

Been to Beaches Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing