We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Carvery in lovely surroundings.”

Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Alnmouth Golf Club overlooks the splendours of both Foxton and Alnmouth Bay on the Northumberland coastline in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty. It is widely regarded as one of the finest golf courses in the North East of England. Although the course has a coastal location it has parkland turf and a reputation for the fine quality of the greens and superb presentation. Recently chosen as one of the TOP 100 HIDDEN GEM golf courses in the UK by Golf Monthly magazine. We are a private members club with active Mens and Ladies sections, friendly clubhouse atmosphere and very strong junior section. Visitors are always given a warm Northumbrian welcome at Alnmouth where we have buggies for hire and first class practice facilities. A special feature of "Foxton", as we are generally known, is a 26-bed Dormy House within the clubhouse offering hotel accommodation, English Tourism 3 Star rating, to groups of visiting golfers in very comfortable twin or single rooms with en suite facilities. We offer a full range of stay and play golfbreaks for groups and couples. SKY SPORTS TV AVAILABLE IN THE CLUBHOUSE. RELAX AFTER A ROUND WATCHING LIVE SPORT AT FOXTON HALL DRIVING RANGE AND FIRST CLASS PRACTICE FACILITIES AVAILABLE
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We had a two course Sunday Carvery for two at Alnmouth Golf Club on Sunday 29 July 2018. We were hoping for good weather, but it was not to be, after all the sunshine of late we chose the wettest Sunday for weeks!

However, the weather did not spoil the wonderful setting. Alnmouth Golf Club is located at Foxton Hall and the clubhouse is magnificent. It has recently been refurbished so the décor is lovely, it has a bar with a television, a lounge area where bar meals are served in a relaxing atmosphere and other function rooms as well as overnight accommodation.

Alnmouth Golf Club offers a carvery Sunday Lunch once a month however meals and bar snacks are available every day. Dress code for the Sunday carvery is smart and we were sat in area adjacent to the main lounge which was beautifully set out as a formal dining room with a carvery. The staff are smart and friendly. When we ordered drinks (which are reasonably priced), we were asked to confirm our name and offered a tab for our drinks and meal with the same member of staff taking our name for our booking.

We had a couple of drinks and just after 1 pm a member of staff came and took us through to our table. We had already been given a copy of the varied menu (see photo) which gave us a choice of beef, pork and turkey. Salmon was also available which needed to be ordered in advance when booking in. I had the turkey while my wife Carole had pork. There was also a range of vegetables along with Yorkshire pudding and stuffing.

Despite the clubhouse being very busy with other meals as it was also Club Championship day the food was cooked to perfection, the meat of our choice expertly cut by a chief who also offered us Yorkshire pudding and stuffing. There were two types of potatoes (new and roast), along with 6 seasonal vegetable and gravy. The meat portions were generous, the Yorkshire puddings huge and the vegetables fresh and hot. The staff were on hand to ensure everything was ok - which it was, and they also offered a drinks service to the table to save us having to go through to the bar and having to leave our meal.

Breaking our usual dining rule, we also had desert – I had the Sticky Toffee Pudding with ice cream and my wife had the Crème Brulee with fruit compote and shortbread and they were delicious!

We definitely recommend Alnmouth Golf Club for a Sunday Carvery, however as it is only served one Sunday a month they have created a niche market, so you must book a table in advance to avoid disappointment.

Thank Ian and Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your afternoon and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great golf"
in 8 reviews
"golf course"
in 16 reviews
"dormy house"
in 8 reviews
"cooked to perfection"
in 2 reviews
"golf break"
in 4 reviews
"golf club"
in 7 reviews
"overnight accommodation"
in 3 reviews
"member of staff"
in 2 reviews
"dining room"
in 2 reviews
"can't wait to return next year"
in 2 reviews
"clubhouse facilities"
in 2 reviews
"real test"
in 2 reviews
"great condition"
in 2 reviews
"cake"
in 2 reviews
"golfers"
in 11 reviews
"golfing"
in 5 reviews
"carvery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2018

Time is starting to have an adverse impact and a lot of areas need a lick of paint but it is reasonable as regards the package it offers. We were not wild about the golf course but we knew we were not going to get a full links experience and by playing in the afternoon the course was not packed as it was in the morning. Dinner was very acceptable but somewhat marred by two large over enthusiastic golfing groups bonding noisily in the dining room (breakfast was good and not nearly as noisy!).

Thank 364tilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your comments which will be noted for our annual refurbishment programme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

16 of us went to Play and stay at Alnmouth Golf club and had a fantastic time , Course was Great , Rooms were very good and food excellent, all in all excellent value for two rounds of Golf breakfast and evening meal and to top it off the staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating,
Everyone in our party agreed and can't wait to return next year , would highly recommend this place

Thank jimdwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Cheers Jim, pleased you all enjoyed your break and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Fourteen of us stayed at Foxton Hall golf club and played two rounds. Course in excellent condition and a wee bit challenging when the wind blows. Stayed in the Dormy rooms which were immaculate. An evening meal of two courses. Full English the following day. Food was freshly cooked and beautiful. The staff are really friendly with a great service. We all decided we would be going back next year.

Thank JohnRobson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you all enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

A bit out of the way but very reasonable.
Pleasant views over the course to the sea.
Non members welcome.
Very good value.
Great home made cake.
Pleasant staff.

Thank KatherineD613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersimpson2016, Manager at Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit, especially the cake!! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall also viewed

 

Been to Alnmouth Golf Club Foxton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing