We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but overpriced in comparison to others we stayed at.”
Review of The Craven B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uffington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Craven B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Uffington B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant but overpriced in comparison to others we stayed at.”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A very old house with pleasant hosts. We paid for a meal which was well cooked and tasty but not worth the money we paid for it when compared to other B& B's offering the same service foir the same price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Really relaxed, warm welcome- thank you Carol. Lovely home to stay in and beautiful garden to relax in. A treat to sample home-grown vegtables and salads with dinner each night. Coupled with a wander down to the local pub after dinner, a truly reviving weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisejane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

When booking the owner did not return phone calls, when finally reached booking wasn't accepted as told it was a minimum booking of 2 nights. Owner called to back to accept but charged a £10 surcharge for the 1 night. Wanted to check in at 4pm but there was going to be another surcharge for doing this before 5.30pm.

No tea making facilities in room, no tv, room smelt musty, one of the towels smelt of wet dog, bed sheet had rip in it and no cover on the duvet which was discoloured in appearance. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalkingBoots19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We planned to stay at The Craven as it is conveniently situated if you are walking the Ridgeway (fabulous long distance path), as we were. It looked idyllic. Not sure they wanted our busines since, having "booked" on their web site 2 months before then, in the ensuing weeks, made about half a dozen unanswered phone calls and sent a letter, they failed to contact us to confirm. Finally elicited a response to a phone call.
With slight trepidation, we rang them half an hour before our expected arrival time only to discover that they had cancelled our booking without contacting us. Imagine your reaction at the best of times, let alone when you have just walked 12 miles and are looking forward to a hot bath or shower and a meal. OK they had good reason to cancel, having suffered from the floods, but reliability is not their strong point. Take your chance.

  • Disliked — The lack of reliability of the whole booking process.
Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank VioletEngland48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Craven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven B&B

Property: The Craven B&B
Address: The Craven Fernham Road, Uffington SN7 7RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Uffington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Uffington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Craven B&B Uffington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing