We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2007

very well presented with each room being by itself like like chalets and each named after a flavour. Massive bed and cosy tv.
Close to Henley on Thames didnt visit the bar went into Henley itself to get dinner. Very pleasant and cosy.

Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jess768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    215
    62
    28
    8
See reviews for
42
405
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

It is an old English Inn. The rooms are modern, clean & the bed was comfortable. l stayed in an annex room attached to the hotel in a pleasant courtyard setting. The buffet breakfast was good, but the evening meal in their bistro was disappointing. Although l don't eat large portions, l thought my meal was very expensive. I had steak & chips, which consisted of 9 chunky chips stacked in a tower on the plate and a rather small, but cooked to my liking, piece of steak. I didn't realise there would be no vegetables or side salad served with it, otherwise we would have ordered side dishes as well. My meal included summer pudding, a glass of house wine and pot of tea for one. The cost of my evening meal was around £31.

  • Liked — clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — overpriced evening meals
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

Stayed here before a business meeting in Henley early next day.

It's trying to be a boutique hotel but needs a serious overhaul. Good points - location, reception staff and the breakfast.

Bad points - everything else. In no particular order...cramped room, creaky bed, cushions absolutely covered in unidentified stains, tiny tv in a cupboard of which the doors touched the bed making it impassable, space in front of the sink not wide enogh to stand face on without touching cold shower screen or burning sholder on heated towel rail, fixed shower head too low to get under, trickle of water from shower accompanied by noise like a road drill, chat from staff through floors/doors until after midnight, noise from heating (?) system in cupboard in room til about 1am, noise from extractor/aircon fan outside bathroom all night, tired carpets and decoration, room not heated until just before I arrived and radiator at full tilt smelt like burning rubber poerfect because I was unable to open window as it was a rooftop fire escape!, upholstery on bar seats filthy, needs redecoration throughout.

I'm sure I've forgotten some things but you get the idea! Paid £75 from bookings .com - much too expensive even at that price.

I wouldn't go again or recommend this to anyone I didn't REALLY dislike.

  • Liked — location/breakfast
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ratherbeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

Booked in for one night based on a discount price and good reviews on trip advisor.

The overall impression is that staff and management care about the accommodation and service they provide and want guest to genuinely enjoy their stay.

The rooms are stylishly decorated if not particularly spacious, bathroom was clean and modern -although if you were much over 6ft you might struggle to get under the shower, the ground floor rooms are probably better as they don’t have the sloping eaves.

Service in the bar / restaurant was more tha adequate and food was very good at a reasonable price. Breakfast was equally good.
The only poor point was the bath robe provided was dirty - looked like make up.

Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — It was different from the norm.
  • Disliked — dirty bathrobe
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank The_new_Breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

Spent Saturday night in White Hart Hotel as only 1 hour drive from N. London and more than fulfilled our desire to find a gastropub with bedrooms. This hotel should probably be classed as modern boutique hotel with the added benefits of a lovely bar with log fire and excellent food in the bistro (there is also a restaurant we didn't use, though it seemed very high standard).
The guide to the hotel also included a walk around Nettlebed which takes 1 1/2 to 2 hours through picturesque enlish woodlands and rolling fields. This was a real treat especially coming back to a roaring fire and real ale.
Our room - pistachio,(1 of 12 rooms) was housed in the original 15th century building at the front of the building. There are more modern apartment style rooms at the rear, but the furnishings for are all habitat style comfort.
The only negative I can counter with is the lack of people in the Bistro when we ate at 20:30 which doesn't create the warm busy atmosphere you would expect, I guess if enough people write positive reviews of the hotel, it can only get more popular.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gavjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2005

Very nice hotel. Decor is minimal but very modern - lovely cosy fire in bar. Execellent bistro and restaurant. Staff are excellant v. attentive. We took some drinks to our room and the hotel manager saw us leaving the bar and followed us with bowls of nuts to eat as well. Only 5 mins drive out of Henley on Thames - thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lollaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nettlebed
8.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
10.7 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
4.6 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Nettlebed, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing