We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and once again a very pleasant stay, lovely room with huge bed and roll top bath. Food was excellent both dinner and breakfast. Already booked to go back in May. Thankyou White Hart for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    204
    59
    27
    8
See reviews for
39
384
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break and like lots of others this was a groupon deal. All in all a very good offer. The champagne offered as part of the deal was actually very nice and seemed even nicer when we noticed on the wine list that it is offered at £50 a bottle! However the food was a bit of a let down. I had the crayfish stack which was incredibly bland - the fact that it was served very cold straight from the fridge probably didn't help the flavours. My husband had the combination grill (piri-piri prawns, half a chicken and pork ribs) and to be honest whilst edible, it had "harvester" written all over it which is not quite in keeping with the "home cooked South African theme" the menu tempts you with! It was also served within 5 minutes of ordering! However these things are relative and therefore because we paid effectively £55 per night (taking off the champagne) and dinner was free we weren't about to complain..however had I been presented with a bill for £70 for dinner I would have felt robbed.
Breakfast was again ok, although on the day we checked out we chose to skip it and went the Field Cafe 150yds up the road - gorgeous little place with great food and a lovely shop selling lots of shabby chic homewares. I agree with the previous review about the decor of some parts - the beams in the restaurant are painted brown (?!) and the carpet a little odd - they have gone half way with the decor (cow hide chairs) but need to go the whole hog if you'll pardon the pun!
Moving on to our room (6 - Saffron) this was lovely (no beams to paint brown or otherwise and very tastefully decorated) There was no bath (and I knew that when I booked it) but a lovely bathroom although as others have said the shower pressure isn't great but it was adequate and I wouldn't say "a trickle" as others may. There is definitely some traffic noise (although it was understandably much less on Saturday morning). It was not bad enough to wake me but because I woke at 4am, it didn't help with trying to get back to sleep! The bed was very comfy and the flat screen tv in a great position to watch from it! I would also say that the room was spotlessly clean. All in all it was good value for the room and champagne alone and given that the rooms generally appear to.be under £100 I would probably return if visiting the area, but would eat elsewhere!

Room Tip: If you really can't abide any traffic noise you need to ask for a room in the newly built block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylu36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The White Hart for three nights as part of the groupon deal. We arrived at 2pm, although check in is from 3pm, and were told there was no way we would be able to check in early. This wasn't really too much of a problem so we popped over to Henley and had a wander for a few hours. (There are some lovely little shops, cafés and restaurants in Henley and we would certainly visit there again!)

We returned to The White Hart and were quickly checked in and shown to our room (7) which was at the front of the building. There was a roll top bath in the room and a fabulous, huge sleigh bed which was incredibly comfortable. Everything has been painted an odd beige/biscuit colour, which is such a shame as it covers all the old beams and completely gets rid of the character of the building. The mix of furniture and knick knacks is also very odd, nothing seems to be in keeping with the wonderful old building you are staying in. There was a lot of noise from the road, but as we live in a town centre location this really didn't bother us at all. We did find the room incredibly hot which was strange as there were no radiators on in the room! Never had that in such an old building... My advice to the owners of this place would be to checkout Byfords in Holt, Norfolk and see what they have done with an amazing old building!

We had a three course meal on night one of our stay, honestly can't fault the meal or the service from the waitresses. Breakfast was also very nice although if you ask for anything different to the three cooked breakfast options they tend to get it wrong! Minor problems and all dealt with very well.

We ate in Henley and Oxford on the other nights of our stay. Oxford is a beautiful city with so many sights, the Ashmolean museum is beautiful.

Overall I would recommend The White Hart as somewhere to use as a base if you were travelling locally but I would probably choose to stay elsewhere if I returned to the area, purely because we like to try different places.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loopylou157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

booked with groupon voucher very nice hotel rooms large and very nice with a great bath food was great village very small and quite but nice .ideal place to stay with the wife no kids thanks for a great nights stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MESHALOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This pub has poor outside lighting and signage so off to a ropy start when it has rained incessantly for weeks! However, the decor is pleasant and the service amicable if distant. I was asked to leave my card which I flatly refuse to do (remember that you may not be reimbursed by your bank if your card is tampered with). That was allowed and we stayed to eat. The wine was all right and the so was the food..but that is all. There is a distinct lack of competition in this small area which allows mediocrity to flourish. It is a shame as there is great potential here.
Wouldn't go back as feel bored with the thought.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborahski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My girlfriend booked a night away here through Groupon. We stayed in room 1 which was lovely and comfortable and we barely noticed the traffic noise...the rain might have dampened the traffice noise!! We both had a Steak and the groupon offer gave us the entire mneu other than a Fillet steak. So a large Sirloin and Rib eye were ordered. Both excellently cooked washed down with an excellent bottle of SA red. Starters and puddings both excellent too. The full english breakfast was also excellent. Overall no complaints and effectively the Groupon offer worked out that we stayed for free so can't complain about that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked this hotel on Groupon as a surprise for my partners birthday, and boy wasn't it a surprise.

As soon as we arrived the receptionist wasn't very welcoming, he just asked for the voucher number from Groupon and shown us up to our room. Room 4 was upstairs in the hotel, as soon we entered the room he quickly scarpered, and now i can see why. As soon as you walk in the room and stare facing the bed, on the right hand side of the wall there is a massive water leak mark which is half way down the wall, and there was also no free standing bath or bath anywhere to be seen, so i went back down to the reception to complain about the room advising that i also suffer from Asthma so this wouldn't exactly be ideal for me to stay in a damp room. He then agreed to move us to a room downstairs, room 3, this room was a lot nicer with a free standing bath in the bathroom.
After being in the room for a couple of minutes you then start to hear the horrendous noise of traffic outside of your window, of which there are no blinds so you have to keep your curtains pulled the whole time of your stay. The traffic was so loud and constantly busy we decided to keep the music channel on the whole time to counteract the noise of the traffic.

We then decided to go into wallingford for a bite to eat, please bare in mind that if your going their in a taxi from nettle bed only 6 miles away expect to pay a £20 taxi.

On the 2nd night of the stay which was in fact my partners birthday, we had booked in for a 3 course meal, so we went down to the restaurant which was slightly busy and was shown to our table. I chose calamari for starters, when this came out it was cold with no batter just on its own and i don't know wether it was off or it was soaked in something awful but it stank so much i couldn't even bare to put it to my lips to taste it. We then went onto the mains, i chose fish and chips, and theres no exaggeration when I'm saying this, when i accidentally tapped the tartare sauce dish which was on my main plate, i noticed the whole plate was covered in bright yellow oil which had come from the fish, it was revolting; and to top it all off the chips were in fact wedges, massively burnt wedges. As you can imagine, i was not impressed in the slightest especially as we were there for an occasion and not just a jolly to get away.

I am very sad by leaving this review as before we embarked on our weekend away we were so excited, and after the 2nd night we both refused to have the free breakfast as we were both so annoyed.

When booking check which room you have and don't order any fish off the menu!!

A very unhappy customer

Room Tip: Do not accept room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank clairy143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nettlebed
8.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.6 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
10.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Nettlebed, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing