We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is in a lovely old building, and the the furnishings are attractive, but it is let down by the details. There was no warm welcome on arrival, we weren't shown to our rooms, just pointed in the vague direction. The shower was one of the worst I have ever had, but the manager was not very interested when we mentioned it, just said it was a poor water pressure area and a listed building. The television also switched itself off every five minutes, again we were given excuses for this. The system of having to put codes in for WIFI access every few minutes is also irritating and seemed an unnecessary over complication.

On the plus side the food and wine were good and reasonably priced, but the restaurant service as a bit patchy. The coffee machine for breakfast is complicated, instead of offering help we felt that the staff were telling us off for not using it correctly. Why not just bring drinks to tables in the usual way instead of over complicating everything for your guests?

On the whole the prices for accommodation do not really reflect the standard of service and quality of accommodation here unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    227
    65
    29
    8
See reviews for
43
436
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the White Hart Hotel. This hotel felt like a traditional English inn with a friendly bar area and smart restaurant. The rooms were also smart with modern features but keeping the character of the old building. It is in beautiful countryside and the manager was able to give us a map for short walk in the local woods. I would recommend it for a short break.

The room and common areas were all clean, smart and well maintained. The rooms are also quiet despite being on a reasonably busy country lane - and we were near the front of the building.

I did not give it 5 out of 5 for three reasons - all minor. Although the manager was very friendly and polite, I always got the sense he was in a rush and they may need extra staff. The wifi in the room was not free (a very minor complaint as it was only £2 per 24 hours). Finally, the food although very nice was all of the same sort (traditional English pub food) and there could have been more variety.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely stay. I was in Room 2 - 'Toffee' which is at the front and on the main road. I didn't find it too noisy but always take ear plugs with me but didn't use them!!
It would have been nice if there was more power in the shower and the reception on the tv was a bit hit and miss but the room was really lovely.
Food was good and staff very helpful.
Definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a great stay
It is a lovely country pub with rooms and the room the Mulberry was spot on
Clean and modern and just outside the front door of the room the outside terrace with plenty of seating
The food was of good quality The steaks were excellent and the breakfast was fabulous!

The Sticky toffee pudding and the cheese board were really lovely
All in all a good find and would certainly book to go again

.......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTouchstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I booked the Hotel with Secret Escapes and it represented exceptional value .
The room was excellent, but as it was a hot summers day , we had to open the window. The traffic noise from the road was intrusive.
The evening meal was excellent , a good quality steak.
The breakfast was good.

However I feel I must point out a few niggles.
1. When we arrived at 2pm, instead of being greeted with - ¨ Good afternoon , How are you ?¨-
we were greeted with - ¨Hello, the room wont be ready until 3pm. You are welcome to leave your bags at reception . We cant accept any responsibility for them though.¨-
Not quite the cordial welcome?

2. As we had been given a bottle of premier cru wine the day before by a friend . I asked if we may bring it to the restaurant in the evening and pay corkage ( happy to pay 15 pounds for the privilege).
¨´No, that is not possible¨´ , was the response.
Disappointing, as many Michelin star restaurants welcome BYO as long as the wine is of decent standard.
Perhaps the owner of the White Hart would like to check them out . Tom Aikens in Chelsea and L´Oranger in St James are two restaurateurs who welcome the friendly corkage policy.

3. When we asked if Wifi was available , we were told there is a 2 pound fee . Very petty in my opinion . Why not just charge more for the room ?

The hotel has the potential to be much more welcoming with more atmosphere , but dare I say that, possibly, due to a degree of arrogance , emanating from the owner, that is not happening at the moment.
Pity

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were on the secret escapes deal and are very impressed. Having just stayed in a relais and chateaux hotel we had high standards, obviously its a county pub with attached rooms, and for what it is you couldn't have asked for more.

We actually went two consecutive weeks and so sampled two rooms, the second was much bigger but both had a really nice feel, a bit of a quirk and who can complain with a roll top bath.

Food was good, gastro pub style, big portions and the staff were friendly. It's not a sir/madam kind of place but I like that they got to know us and made us feel comfortable.

Yes you had to pay for wifi which is naff but actually having a break from emails etc isn't such a bad thing.

Good location to explore surroundings (by car).

Would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

What a place! Who ever designed it, is brilliant at it. Top marks. The place is amazing. The pub and restaurant area is full of character and interesting objects, the rooms are super stylish and makes you feel really special when staying there.
Food at the restaurant was good but there is some space for improvement, I would say 8 out of 10.
Staff friendly and helpful. We were given a room facing main road, we had it changed as soon as I mentioned that I am light sleeper.
Downside - lack of reception on our phones and charge for wifi.
Bed was on a small side, beautiful but surprisingly not very comfy, I think the mattress may need changing.
Over all - I would definitely come back. The area is really pretty too - we went for an amazing country side walk in the morning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SugarTrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nettlebed
2.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
264 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
780 reviews
14.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
706 reviews
7.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
18.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Nettlebed, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing