We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I brought my girlfriend here for an overnight birthday treat. The weather was gorgeous which helped the occasion and we enjoyed drinking champagne on the sun terrace. Our room was a good size with modern decoration and well equipped, our only complaint is that the shower was very poor. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant and all of the staff were very attentive and polite. We will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The room was lovely very stylish and spotlessly clean. When we arrived at 3.00 we were told that there was nothing available for us to eat, tea and cake in the bar or crisps etc some sort of sandwich service would have been appreciated after the journey there perhaps a note when confirming booking stating this would be helpful. While we were there another family of four arrived and were told the same thing and there was nothing else available the village open to go too. The staff at breakfast could show you how to use the facilities? Hot water is in a thermos flask and was not hot and not clearly labeled. Fresh fruit bowl was nearly empty when we got there and another group of four arrived and asked for it to be refilled and were told they were busy with breakfasts and that was all that was available. Scrambled egg was the worst that I have ever eaten very disappointed as this was a Birthday stay . Booked through secret escapes.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The menu is fairly extensive, and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. Breakfast was standard fare and tasty. Our room was clean, perhaps not the most comfortable bed ever, but adequate enough. The only criticism was that the shower head could use a de-scaling because the water kind of sprayed everywhere. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank christamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the whole place !!! Got upgraded to the Honey Suite which was so lovely !!! Can't fault it apart from my hair dryer didn't reach the small mirror on the wall & for a lady that's major but hey ho they just need to add a vanity mirror on the side table. I soooo want to go back & I'm sure we will do & very soon too !!! X

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Fay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here on a secret escapes deal. Lovely welcome, and friendly enthusiastic staff. room was fantastice with a superking bed, massive bath and nice and light. Great linens and towels. Good toiletries supplied too. Lots of parking spaces. Main course food was very good, and the steak i had was cooked to perfection. Limited starters and cheeseboard was nothing special. A very nice outdoor seating area, that had the right amount of sun later in the day. We enjoyed the reasonably priced drinks on the terrace.

Room Tip: Not telling....as ours was fantastic but other travellers said theirs were not so nice :-) We fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice pub style hotel. We stayed here as a stop off on the way to London and it was perfectly adequate for this. The room (no 14) was a good size, comfortable and clean and with a good spec. I would describe the reception as brisk and efficient rather than friendly and welcoming but the serving staff were friendly and chatty. For us the place and location were fine but the food was a let down. In the evening you can eat in the restaurant area or at the bar, the menu is the same. we ate in the restaurant and chose peri peri chicken, the sauce was so hot and spicy as to make the meal almost inedible, even the manager said the sauce 'was a bit hotter than usual' and discounted the bill. Chips were good though. Maybe this is how it is meant to be or we just made the wrong choice but it wasn't a great experience. Full English breakfast was standard although the bacon was a bit dry and over-cooked. The price is probably reasonable for the area. In summary, OK for a stop off but choose carefully at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We live in Hong Kong and had my sons HK girlfriend with us when we stayed at this hotel.
We were all delighted to see an authentic English pub with nice rooms, only downside no air con and it was 28 degrees. Pub was great and friendly food what you expect from a decent hotel.
We would stay again. Oh and great value

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nettlebed
2.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
277 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
816 reviews
4.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.6 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
669 reviews
8.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Price Range: £85 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Nettlebed, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing