We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accomodation”
Review of Gairloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gairloch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb Accomodation”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Manager John and his efficient team are to be congratulated. The hotel provided excellent service, Our upgraded , ground floor, sea view room was a delight to occupy for 5 nights. Entertainment was enjoyed by the majority of the guests each evening although we preferred to retire to our peacefull, comfortable room with it's beautiful views and flat screen T V. The hotel atmosphere was warm, honest and considerate.Room and restuarant service was excellent and the Chef did well considering his budget due to the low rates paid. We could not have wanted anything other than Wi Fi. Even then the staffs own hub was offered for our use. As they were so busy we did not inconvenience them. Better than many 4 and 5 star that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Ring prior to booking to discuss your requirements. Honest and genuine so will state if required acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks for your comments, there is very little to beat the splendour of the views captured from the hotel's location; I have passed your comments on to the hotel staff as it is vey much a team effort. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    86
    52
    36
    24
See reviews for
29
165
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

our stay in this hotel was quite funny we were quoted 45 pounds then 40 then 35 pounds per person so as it was the only place we could find we took it only to find there was no heating in our rooms, freezing no showers damp in the walls paper hanging off the walls drafty windows etc breakfast was sparce eggs dry bacon overdone porridge uh well thick, even the staff told us they were leaving soon trheyd had enough the hotel is very dated it needs a few million spent on it its a shame as its a lovelly old building but needs a lick of paint

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AberdeenTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your comments, we alter the price as an evening progresses and we see what is still available, I am glad you were able to benefit from a reduced price due to your time of booking, as for a dampness issue thank you for bringing it my attention if you had done so on your night of stay I would have gladly offered you an alternative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gairloch hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

my brother and I have just had a seven day holiday. we had a great time,All staff are really friendly and helpful. Tony the manager is a great guy nothing is too much trouble for him, everybody made us feel so weicome.The scenery is to die for I am sure you could never get tired of it.
The arranged outings where very good and it was nice to have some free time to explore locally.
The only other comments I have to make, is to say Pity about the driver.Full of his own self importance (you know) I think he is referred to as Numpty John. Time he looked for a new job.
.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank valerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback I have passed your comments on to all the hotel staff and look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Enjoyed our stay the hotel is in a lovely location its getting ready for a makeover but still worth a visit. The staff are really helpful & the service is very good.

Room Tip: A room on the front is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thanks for your review, I look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The greeting from the portly jolly manager was a great start to my break along with the excellent customer service from all the staff smiles to die for nothing was too much trouble, all the staff work together even the portly manager was lending a hand and supporting his staff during busyperiods. Absolutely stunning scenery what a beautiful location would recommend to anyone hope to be back soon just mention how good the entertainment is especially ronnie Ross my daughters favourite !,

Room Tip: Request room with a shower and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shejoe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments about the hotel and staff, we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

A single traveller on this occasion, I joined the Shearings tour bus at Corley Services near Coventry. Here our driver, Tim, was outstanding in his knowledge and useful informative commentary en route to our first night's stopover at the Hallmark Hotel in the centre of Carlisle. I will review the Hallmark in detail separately but suffice to say at this stage it was very luxurious and well appointed. Our party of 14 were all seated at one table and it was a chance to get to know my fellow travellers a little better.

The following day we had three stops (no lap of the journey felt too long without a chance to stretch one's legs) at McKinnon Mills near Coatbridge, Dobbie's Garden Centre at Perth with it's first class restaurant, and the Tourist information Centre at Charlestown, just north of Inverness.

We reached the Gairloch Hotel at about 18:00 hours and the beautiful location outshone the illustrations in the Shearings brochure. The manager, Tony, boarded the bus to greet us on our arrival, and nothing was too much trouble for him throughout our stay. I was amazed that my room had a sea view, as I had assumed a single room would be facing the rear of the hotel. The room was spotless and cleaned and tidied regularly, the only slight disappointment was the TV which only received 4 channels.

The evening meals were outstanding with an excellent selection from a varied menu, a free glass of wine on entry to the dining room, and an lovely view of the bay from the huge windows. The plates were impressively hot, and the vegetables freshly cooked to a high standard.

Breakfasts offered a varied selection from the menu and my preference for poached egg with my cooked breakfast was accommodated as a matter of course.

I am not one for evening entertainment, preferring a good walk instead, but the musicians that performed each evening were well received by all accounts. Two excursions were included in my particular 7 day package; one via Loch Maree and all round the majestic Beinn Eighe to the peaceful village of Sheildaig for lunch, and the second via the scenic Loch Ewe, Gruinard Bay, Little Loch Broom and Loch Broom to Ullapool. Again Tim impressed me with his knowledge of the geography and history of the local area.

The third excursion was an optional extra (£15) and involved using a smaller, local bus and local driver Colin from Gairloch. This took us back via Loch Torridon and Shieldaig and then the coastal route via Kenmore and Lonbain (where we passed Monty Halls' "Beachcomber Cottage" from the television series "Great Escape" on BBC2) to reach the village of Applecross.

Here we were served with a unique cider and onion soup at the local pub, with a chance to explore the village and buy postcards from the village store, then it was over the breathtaking mountain pass with hairpins to Loch Kishorn. We could see why we needed a smaller bus for this part of the journey. Colin is a coastguard, mountain rescue man as well as a local DJ and he kept us informed of local stories and information. He has a great sense of humour and kept us laughing even on the precipitous parts of the journey. This extra excursion was one of the highlights of my break and well worth every penny.

The return trip southwards involved beautiful scenery past the remote train station of Achnasheen and Strath Bran to Inverness and then the A9 via the Cairngorms and Aviemore, Pitlochry to Perth and then across the Forth Road Bridge (with beautiful views of the Forth Bridge) to Edinburgh with a stop at Jedburgh. Our overnight was at the luxurious Mercure George Washington Hotel within sight of the Angel of the North at Washington, Tyne and Wear.

All in all, a perfect holiday and one I would recommend for single travellers.

Just a word about mobile phone reception - Vodafone is perfect at Gairloch but a bit patchy inland. Other networks, I understood from Colin, are much, much worse. It might be a good idea to take a Vodafone "pay as you go" sim card with you if you are on another network and use this in your phone if the networks will allow. Also, warn your nearest and dearest that you will be out of signal range from time to time. I can assure you that the scenery is so beautiful that you will not miss your mobile connection anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you do not want to be disturbed by the evening's entertainment, but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jannie_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to relate your experience of the hotel and our wonderful location, I look forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Inlaws have just come back from a 6 day break with shearing holidays told me the hotel staff food and room all first rate the only down side was John the driver with very slow driving and and driving them crazy with all the comments about anyone that was on the same road Shearing need to take notice and get a grap of him before someone on the bus steps in

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Can you pass on to your in-laws my thanks for the very positive comments about the hotel and its staff, as the old saying goes "word of mouth is the best advert in the world", I look forward to welcomeing then back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
4.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
8.0 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
180 reviews
16.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Property: Gairloch Hotel
Address: 9 Raonmor, Gairloch IV21 2BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing