We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gairloch Hotel 22nd - 26th July”
Review of Gairloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gairloch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gairloch Hotel 22nd - 26th July”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

An excellent coach tour with Shearings. The 3 hotels that we stayed in were excellent. The only drawback being the room we had at the back of the Gairloch Hotel on the ground floor had the noise of the air conditioning. Also we were woken each morning at 6.30am by the delivery vans. Apart from this the actual hotel. the staff (all very friendly), food and entertainment were good. The day trips were very good, helped by our driver Stuart Smith. What can I say, he certainly made the holiday, he was very professional, knowledgeable and caring, nothing phased him especially when we had a puncture on our way home, he dealt with it and made us all feel at ease. This young man will go a long way in whatever he chooses to do career wise.

Room Tip: Don't select a ground floor room at the back of the hotel as rather noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, I have passed your feedback on to the staff at the hotel, and stuart in particular. Whom I agree has a wonderful attitude to his chosen profession and life in general
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    90
    58
    42
    26
See reviews for
30
179
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our first coach holiday and it exceded our expectations.Went with Shearings and was very well looked after by our driver Stuart his attitude all through was outstanding. He never complained or seemed to worry. He gave the impression of really enjoying his job. We will be going on a lot more Shearing holidays in the future and will be recomending them to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamishd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, as they say the best advert in the world is word of mouth, I am glad you are going to reccommend the Bay Gairloch hotel and Shearings Holidays to your friends, and I look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have read the recent reviews about the hotel and agree in principal with the general trend of comments (the fair ones!).
Examples, yes, the hotel needs some modernisation, but we are reviewing a 140 year old hotel!
Staff excellent, friendly and courteous. Hotel is clean and well presented.
Food could perhaps be more varied and a slightly wider choice.
Four drinks vouchers per day a brilliant idea.
Overall, I think this Shearings holiday was outstanding value. I do not think they made very much money, as there were only twenty in our party. John Austin, our driver, was a genial host and obviously gaining in knowledge about the area every trip he does. Wayne, the relief driver was excellent with his knowledge of the Second World War in the Loch Ewe area included in the trip to Ullapool and Inverewe Gardens. Colin the driver for the optional Applecross trip was very knowledgeable and made the day very enjoyable especially with his driving over the "Pass of the Cattle".
Have previously been on three "Lochs and Glens" holidays, which I would rate on a par with Shearings at least. The plus is you do get to hotels at more southern locations in Scotland in one day, without the need to go to somewhere like the Corley interchange. A one day journey obviously is not practical for this northern location.
The setting, scenery, stunning sunsets and the benign weather made this a very enjoyable holiday. I would visit again, if possible, more readily than my previous visit to this area (stayed at Diabaig) 37 years ago.

Room Tip: Some of the hotels at the back of the hotel did not have much of a view, however the one I stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the excursions around our wonderful location, we will welcome you on your return, hopefully, not as long between visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haleowen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

June/July 2012.....We have just completed 4 self drive shearings hotels .............doing a week at each and this is by far the best. I requested special diet and this was handled well at every meal..... lovely comfy quiet lounges overlooking loch.............food best in shearings group.....staff so good.....entertainment great.Across the road to great beach and sand dunes............fab sunsets at about 11pm so still light at 11.30 then sun rises again about 3.30. We ran out of camera space the scenery is so fantastic. It is a long way up north but well worth the trip. Also trip to applecross and the drive back on best zigzag roads are a treat !!! a hidden gem

Room Tip: as i am disabled being near the lift was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dot b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed your time with us so much and i know you will be returning soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Fantastic stay with great staff & only modest food, but what a great lodge.
The Latvian Polish staff do need to brighten up a little, but by golly they are very rapid at service...
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Pay the modest premium for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to your return visit to enjoy our beautiful scenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

An awfully long trek to get there, but well worth it. Spectacular views during the last couple of hours on the coach & then on the trips. The extra cost of the optional trip is well worth the money as Colin the local driver really does know his subject. The hotel is the usual Shearings type of property old but slowly being upgraded. In fact this is probably the best of its type that we have visited. Imposing with tremendous views. Tha rooms are dated but cleaned every day, the food is the standard Shearings fare, good quality but limited choice. The staff as usual mainly eastern European are pleasant & hard working. The manager John always helpful. The entertainment is certainly the best we have encountered in Shearings. Ronnie Ross on his own is worth the holiday cost. All sweetness & light you may think. Not quite, the only negative of this holiday unfortunately we had to endure most of the days. He has justifiably been mentioned here quite regularly but the driver Numpty John is the most obnoxious oath possible and a definite downside of the trip. I personally broke the habit of a lifetime by not tipping the driver on this trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesuccessfulfailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, I have passed your comments to the staff within the hotel, I am glad you found your long trek worthwhile and look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were Shearing virgins and the youth option on the coach. As with others we were fully rewarded by upgrading to a seaview. We witnesssed a couple of fantastic sunsets via this way (which avoided a midge attack). The hotel does on the surface suffer from some lack of modernisation but as far as we were concerned everything worked as it should. First thing in the morning the staff were keen to get everything ship shape. I lost count of the times I saw the stairs being polished. We enjoyed the food and thought that in general there was sufficient on your plate. I'd have liked to have seen a little more variety during the week as most dishes ended up being duplicated and when you only have 3 to pick from it does narrow your choices.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth paying extra for. If you want a shower rather than a bath enquire as to what'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, we, unlike the rest of the country, have been suffering from a distinct lack of rainfall over the past few months. I am glad you took advantage of our sea views an wonderful sunsets and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.7 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
184 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
577 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Property: Gairloch Hotel
Address: Gairloch IV21 2BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing