We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but with room frae improvement.”
Review of Gairloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gairloch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good stay but with room frae improvement.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel itself is located in one of the most stunning areas of the highlands you could wish for. The receptionist on our arrival was most pleasing and helpful, as we had arrived early she made us tea and coffee as we had tae wait for our rooms but not too long. The décor of the hotel and general appearance is dated and needs a spruce up. Our room was ample frae our needs and the bed was comfortable worth paying the extra, view is excellent over the bay. The toilet however was clean but the fan was full of dust and muck cleaning it ourselves it became evident that it is not on the housekeeping's list of things tae do, we pointed this out tae the lady and she informed us that it would be pointed out to the staff.

Meals were on the most good and hearty but choice is limited, excellent service from the staff but please remember that when serving food it should not be stacked up one on top of the other as cross contamination could be caused from the underside of serving platters lying on the food below. I know why they do it as it is easier tae carry many to avoid distance to table. The bar is well stocked and comfortable and going inclusive with the 4 drinks is a useful idea, saves forking oot monies every time. We did nae partake of the entertainment as it is nae our thing but what I heard and saw is alright. One little thing though can you please pass on tae the entertainers that shouting abuse at passing guests frae a cheap aside is demeaning and I did nae bother with the clown who did it, nae P.C. in todays climate.

The main bugbear at this hotel is the lack of a proper smoking area as guests congregate at the front of the hotel and the aroma drifts right through the place, making a very bad first impression when entering. I spoke tae the manager aboot most things and he commented that there was nae money allocated for a smoking area, Shearing's as a point of principle you need tae do something soonest and establish smoking areas away from the front of house and a cover frae guests tae use on bad weather days as they will still only use the main door alcove!

Overall the stay was good and worth the money, the area is excellent and best places frae us were Attadale gardens, Inverewe, Corieshalloch falls and the road frae Kinlochewe tae Torridon and beyond is wonderful.

Room Tip: Pay extra frae sea view and all inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments about the Gairloch Hotel and our wonderful location, I look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    91
    58
    43
    27
See reviews for
30
182
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just returned from a Shearings holiday to this stunning part of Scotland a trip made perfect by our driver and tour guide Martin, he clearly loves the Highlands and his enthusiasm, patience, very safe driving and sense of humour made the trip perfect. Its the most beautiful scenery we have ever seen and i cant wait to go back again. Do not miss the trip to Applecross - a little expensive but not to be missed.
The hotel was rather run down in places - we did upgrade to a loch view room which was ok - staff seemed overworked but good humoured - the management sorted a couple of issues we had immediately and were helpful.
Food mostly ok a few shortages but the hotel was closing for the winter that week so not moaning.
Gairloch very pretty and the trips out spectacular. Weather perfect.

very enjoyable all round would definately go again and again .

Room Tip: Upgrade to a loch view room, we had room 211 and there were no creaky floors abaove us. Its well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazelandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review, I have passed your comments onto the staff and I am glad your excursions around Wester Ross and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely holiday to Gairloch with shearings The hotel was a bit tired but the setting and scenery more than made up for this .The trips out were wonderful and our driver Martin was excellent lots of local knowledge and stories to tell,nothing was too much trouble for him. The staff in the hotel were polite and friendly although the bar staff seemed to need a bit more training as my husband never got a full pint. But all in all it was excellent value for money and hope to do it again sometime.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel, its staff and the Wester Ross area; I have also passed your comments on to Martin whom I agree is an asset to the company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day holiday with Shearings and it was everything we expected. The hotel is a bit tired in places but for what you pay this holiday is excellent value. This was our third visit and it will certainly not be our last.
Having read the previous reports Shearings had changed the driver at short notice and our driver (Gerry) was one of the best drivers we have had on our numerous Shearings holidays. Well done Gerry you made sure all your customers enjoyed their break and many thanks.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient. The entertainment was Scottish based and in our view was what we where looking for,we were after all on a Scottish holiday. Ronnie Ross entertainer was excellent.
The food was of a very good standard and I recommend the haggis at the Gala meal.
The room we had (201)had recently been refurbished to a high standard. A new shower,bath and toilet had been installed.
The location of the hotel is excellent and on our last day gairloch bay had a pod of porpoises performing to our delight. We also saw gannets,sea otters and seals from the hotel.
The drinks inclusive package made this holiday excellent value and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We had room(201)and if you do not wish to pay a sea view supplement then this room is on the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am very fortunate to live in such a wonderful area with stunning views and at times forget to take the moment to appreciate them as you do, I have passed on your comments to the staff and Gerry(who is with us again this week), I look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

First Time on a Shearings holiday. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, The dining room staff worked hard, as dis the bar staff. The food was god and varied. We had a standard room which was at the rear of the hotel, beds were comfortable. The room very clean but basic, but that was ok for us. Evening entertainment was reasonable. The hotel could do with a little TLC being spent on it. In general a great time was had, THANK YOU GARLOCH.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 968peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much a team effort though out this hotel; I have passed your praise on to the staff and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Through no fault of the hotel we arrived very much later than we should have. This was not our fault either and by way of compensation the under manager at the hotel had placed a bowl of fruit and a box of chocolates in our room. This was very thoughtful of him and greatly appreciated by us. Although it was around 11pm when we arrived the dining room had been kept open so that we could have a meal if we wanted it. Both of us were quite tired but we did have some soup and a bread roll before settling down for the night. The dining room staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. We developed a very good rapport with Craig and he always had a cheery word for us. All in all a good holiday for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a view it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, your late arrival caused inconvenience for yourself, so the staff were happy to go that extra mile to make your arrival as pleasant as possible, I have passed your comments onto them. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your week with us and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

When we arrived at this hotel we were very impressed, however I was disappointed with the appearance of the foyer, the carpets were very dangerous, they had large creases, very dangerous, I am surprised that no one has fallen over them.
We paid for a double sea view room but when we saw it, the view was obscured by a brick wall at the side so no good view for us unless you sat on the dressing table, also no shower and a very green bath UGGG.
There was black at the corners of the room and a nice spiders web from the ceiling.
The room needed a good overhall, however when we explained that we were not happy, we were offered (for a further payment) an upgrade, we accepted it and the room was much better.
We spoke to some people who were given our old room (they did'nt know it was ours) and they said it was the worse room they had ever had.

On the positive side the entertainment was excellent, yes it is aimed at the older generation but that's what Shearings specialise in.

The two people that stood out for me were Craig in the restaurant (always happy) and Hamish (the handiman), he sorted the problems immediately then came back later to confirm all was well.

One of the coach drivers that was working and staying whilst we were there looked a complete slob and we never saw him smile once, a very bad advert for Shearings, he also nearly knocked me down the stairs at the front when bringing out the travellers bags, he just pushed past me when I had a large suitcase at the top of the stairs, very rude and dangerous.
All in all we had quite a nice time but that was due to the good entertainment, especially Tuesday and Thursday night.
We will however NOT return to this Hotel.
Manager could be more friendly.

Room Tip: pay for an upgrade as well as a sea view and avoid room 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you were able to take advantage of a late booking offer and we were able to offer you an upgrade on your booking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
7.7 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
186 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
22.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
587 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Property: Gairloch Hotel
Address: Gairloch IV21 2BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing