We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but classy!”
Review of Gairloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gairloch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but classy!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is from the old school. The food is good solid Brit fare which isn't my usual option but went down with the other clientele (largely Shearings' Coach parties) very well. Special mention to Tony the manager here. I picked the worst possible week to visit Scotland, as Britain was being lashed by rain, and the Gairloch area was briefly cut off by floods. Tony was able to find me a place for the night in the sister hotel, the Highland Hotel in Strathpeffer (another nice place by the way!) No way would this be possible in an independent hotel, and I am seriously grateful. Oh, and some evenings there's entertainment. My room was a bit pokey, but I was paying bottom dollar so no issue with that.

Helpful?
3 Thank lmac1970
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thanks , for the kind review and we all hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    84
    48
    29
    14
See reviews for
27
153
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from another stay at Gairloch. I have been visiting the hotel for the last ten years and as a previous reviewer said its is the best place to go! The views from the hotel are wonderful. The staff are always helpful. The dining room well run by Craig. We were sorry to learn that John has left, he will be sadly missed and I wish him well in his new ventures.
On this visit we had a very good driver in Dean. He was able to give good information of the areas we visited. On my previous visit this was very much lacking as the driver had not a clue about Gairloch let alone Scotland. I do hope that Shearings have now realised that their travellers would like some information about the local areas visited, this can make or break a holiday! Please take note Shearings. I shall return as any year would not be complete without a Gairloch Fix. Thank you Tony

Room Tip: A sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pauline743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Pauline it was nice to see you back again glad you enjoyed your fix and hope to see you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

At first, the view is really stunning. The view is wonderful, and it has been a real pleasure. Then comes the hotel... and a very bad experience. The welcoming was cold, and half the staff didn't mind to answer when we said hi. Then the lock of the room stayed blocked, and the staff took 10 minutes to propose any kind of solution other than "We can ´t do anything". Deciding to cancel my second night, we've been on touch with the manager which turned out to be very unfriendly, and shouted at me because I made him move from his house to deal with this (which in ever requested, phone would hâve been enough). Room was cold, window isolation terrible and the wind was blowing in. Bathroom was not fully clean.

Overall, this is the only thing I regret in my current trip to Scottland. If you are under 70yo and you want a cool place to stay, keep out of this uncharming hotel. Too sad.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank VHENNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Sorry you felt that way about your stay. However if you had been more upfront about your reason for leaving after 1 night we could have put you in another room.However your reason for leaving was because you had mixed up your intinerary and didn't realise how far it was to skye, and for £55 for two bed & breakfast I honestly cant see your reason for complaining
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gairloch hotels

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just come back from our fourth visit to Bay Gairloch Hotel. It is simply the best place to go. Even if the weather is not great it can't ruin the absolute magic of the place! The staff are helpful and the food is good. We are sorry to see John has left but Tony and crew are still there to see to your needs. We again went to Applecross and thoroughly enjoyed it. The local museum is also worth a visit. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janet190800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Janet, it was nice to see you back again . Thanks for the Rave review see you in the future, I hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from an amazing week staying at the Gairlock hotel ! Yes it's nothing fancy could do with a touch of Scotland added to the decor as it is such a regal building ..a few pots of colourful flowers outside would just add the finishing touches ...! But most importantly spotlessly clean ...food hot and tasty ..with a good choice ..all the staff whatever nationality we helpful and very pleasant .our Holiday was made all the more special with the drivers that took us all over the highlands safely and had lots of information about the area we visited ..thank you John and Colin ..I would recommend this hotel without doubt . We were told we should have had a sea view room by other guests ..but were more than happy and comfortable in our back room .

Room Tip: You will get a lovely view at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank busybeeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Glad to see you enjoyed youre stay with us , I shall pass your comments on to all concerned and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Been meaning to write this review for some time.

Managers Tony and John must have fantastic man management skills to train and motivate so well what seems to be an almost complete turnover of staff (of many nationalities), every year now that the hotel is only open for a few summer months.

That it functions so well is a credit to them.

My wife and I have stayed once or twice a year, self-drive, for the last 8 or 9 years (just booked our second trip of this year). It does not matter which way you go on leaving the hotel because you will be in stunning mountain and loch scenery the equivalent or better than the Lake District for mile after mile after mile on roads so empty that often there is not another vehicle in sight.

Entertainment quality is a subjective matter but Ronnie Ross and Carl Wilson (who have performed here for years) seem to have the knack of pleasing everyone and guarantee you at least two hilariously entertaining evenings.

Gairloch is not the Savoy neither are the prices but the food is consistently better than any of the other Shearings hotels I have visited.

Talking of prices, in this remote part of Scotland prices tend to be on the high side, probably for logistical reasons and, of course, the short season but in terms of value for money in the region,
the Gairloch is, in my experience, unbeatable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LancsTranquility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive and constructive view of your stay I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from a week’s stay travelling with Shearings. The hotel is typical of the Bay hotel’s group, an old but distinctive building standing in a prominent location, kept clean yet looking a little tired in places. Our basic twin bedroom was adequate without having a view; the facilities, bed linen, towels and housekeeping all fine. Rooms with great loch views are available at a supplement. There is free wifi available around the hotel reception.

The hotel is staffed mainly by Eastern Europeans who work hard. The restaurant manager, Craig, was pleasant, jovial and efficient. Food and drinks again fairly typical Bay, a reasonably varied choice and quite palatable. Cooked breakfast was excellent. We thought that the evening entertainment was a bit low key until the last two artists when it livened up somewhat, but that is down to personal taste.

Gairloch is quite small and peaceful, a few shops, harbour with sea trips and pub within walking distance with a lovely wide sandy beach around the headland next to the golf course. We were fortunate that the weather during our stay was extraordinarily good, up to 30 degrees sunshine and warm nights. The downside was that you might get eaten alive if venturing outside for fresh air at night due to the midges. There is some amazing scenery in the area and our 3 included coach tours plus the optional Applecross tour took full advantage of this. We would thoroughly recommend staying here and exploring the Wester Ross Highlands.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bluefox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyThomas2012, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for such a positive review of youre stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
16.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Property: Gairloch Hotel
Address: 9 Raonmor, Gairloch IV21 2BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing