We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility at its best!”
other traveller has booked this property
Mayar Bhan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mayar Bhan
Mayar Bhan looking North to Assynt Mayar Bhan looking South
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Mayar Bhan
Mayar Bhan looking North to Assynt
Mayar Bhan looking South
Living Room
Conservatory #1
Upstairs Double Bedroom
View
Downstairs Double Bedroom
Living Room & Kitchen
Banana Bench
Upstairs twin bedroom
Conservatory #2
Kitchen
North West aspect
Sunset looking from the Patio
View from upstairs bedroom
Seaview
Gruinard Bay view
Mellon Udrigle Beach
Looking Upstairs
House Front
Mayar Bhan from high up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
S K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility at its best!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from a fabulous family holiday week at Mayar Bhan. The location, perfect for "getting away from it all". The house, so comfortable. Great attention to detail. Very swift and informative communication through the owner, Neil. Superb beaches in abundance. Our 9 month old and 2.5 year old have never slept so well! Cot and high chair provided, along with lots of toddler friendly dinnerware! The property looks great in the pictures, but is even better in real life! We will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, accommodation, perfection!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ever changing sea views through the huge picture windows at Mayar Bhan are stunning and let guests enjoy the location, whatever the weather. We loved watching the variety of birds that visited the large garden and made use of the verandah on several occasions. Proper facilities for Scotland (drying cupboard for boots and enormous porch with seats that let you get ready for the day) were a bonus - we walked every day and could easily have stayed for another week and still not completed all we wanted to do. Our two teenage children loved the en suite facilities, games, garden and proximity to adventurous activities. Mayar Bhan is on our favourite places to stay list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Picture windows
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing kitchen
Liked least: The stair would benefit from another handrail and, unfortunately, the downstairs en-suite bath could not be accessed by those with limited mobility.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing environment
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is THE one you've been looking for!”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

My wife, 10 year old daughter, and I stayed for a week in Mayar Bhan at the end of October 2014. We had simply the most amazing time.

The house is modern, light, and warm. We experienced a months worth of Highland rain in 3 days - and thats a lot of rain! - and the house kept us warm and dry. It was not only wet, but also unseasonably warm - on the last day of October we were on Mellon Udrigle beach, and it was 17ºC at lunchtime! It was simply amazing! The beach must be to die for on a warm summer day.

As a result of the unseasonably warm weather, we used the wood burner less than I’d have liked, but logs were plentiful and included in the rent. The wood burner is also easy to clean after use. Besides the burner, the house is kept cosy via under floor central heating.

The house offers two bedrooms upstairs, both ensuite, and one downstairs also with ensuite. For older travellers, or those with limited mobility, this may be useful. There is flat step-free access to the house, and all of the ground floor.

Mayar Bhan is the holiday home of the owners, which they then rent out when they aren’t using it. In our experience this is unusual, most owners don’t seem to have actually stayed in the property they rent. Which means sometimes the little things that are only apparent when you stay somewhere, have perhaps been overlooked. Not so here, we couldn’t think of a single thing.

The fridge is massive, which was very welcome and the wife used to full advantage to fill with all her booze! A separate small freezer kept her supplied with ice too. The house has wifi broadband included, and the speed is perfectly fine for surfing the net, emails and the like. Because the property is so rural, internet speeds might be slower than you are used to, you aren’t likely to be using your netflix account while you are staying, but there’s a DVD player and the TV receives all the Freeview channels.

If you are into jigsaw puzzles, the table in the conservatory provides ample space and light for you to indulge to your hearts content. There are a couple in the house, but we packed a few extra to be on the safe side. I taught my daughter the game of Ludo, and we had hours of fun sitting at the table playing.

The owner of the property is a lovely chap, and provides plenty of friendly and helpful advice on places to visit, and some good places to eat. One eatery that was not on the list, but that we found and would recommend is the Whistle Stop Cafe, Old Village Hall, Kinlochewe (01445 760423) - its quite a hike from the cottage, around an hour (34 miles), but the food is to die for! The cafe is no greasy spoon, but offers quality home-made food, plainly it is made with love and care. Sadly the cafe is only open during the main season, so do check before travelling.

We also recommend the village shop/petrol station/post office in Laide. The owner Susan is lovely, and nothing is too much trouble. Its nice to support a local business, which in turn supports the community.

Maya Bhan is an exceptional holiday rental, with everything you could need, in a stunning location. It is tranquil, quiet and peaceful. Warm, light and comfortable. Clean, spacious and welcoming. It is ideally suited to those, like me, who are hoping to glimpse the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights) without leaving the UK. I wasn’t lucky enough to see them on this visit, so a perfect excuse for me to return again.

If you’ve read this far, my advice would be — just book it! You’ll not be disappointed :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and overall comfort of the accommodation
Liked least: Slightly soft matresses for my taste, and I'm used to a King size bed, rather than a double
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing