We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely afternoon”

Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely afternoon out on the boat with Ric. We had been warned that as the wind had picked up, visibility may not be perfect, but there was no problem at all in being able to see life at the bottom of the sea. We were given lots of information on the marine life both under and above the water including; seals, cormorants, oyster catchers, eider ducks, star fish, barnacles, whelks, mussels, jellyfish and lots more besides. Ric was an affable host and very knowledgeable on the sea creatures and other general pieces of information on the local area and landscape. Our two children thought he was great, and particularly enjoyed sampling sugar kelp and being able to steer the boat on the journey back into harbour.

On arrival back at the office, Jill insisted on giving us all hot drinks and we spent a pleasurable half hour chatting with her and our fellow shipmates. We hadn't realised that we were the first guests of the new season as everything went so well.

Our 11 and 9 year old children really enjoyed the trip and both said how nice both Ric and Jill had been. Our daughter loved the spotting pack she was given to tick off creatures as and when they were sighted, and she particularly enjoyed creating a new sea creature to show Jill when she got back.

Thank you for a great afternoon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    22
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nijverdal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ultimate powerboat experience”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

great for teenagers, powerboat instructor and navy seals powerboat and its better than MTV,m Playstation or XBOX. This is the real experience. Safe, cheap and great!! But now we do have a big problem, four 12-16 years old pubers running around thinking they are 007...The 2 girls are rhe worst!!!
Thanks for this wonderfull experience at the ocean!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DR-ARTHUR-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What I liked best was the meeting of the unanticipated needs of our group. Seriously weatherproof coats were provided and my father who is 83 and partially sighted was very well catered for. I learned a lot about sea life In a friendly, informal environment which felt very safe. A Dutch child was supervised in taking the helm on the journey back to base, an experience enjoyed by all. Coffee and hot chocolate on disembarking was an unexpected and welcome surprise and my sister and I bought beautiful and inexpensive cards created by Jill, one of the proprietors from the base shop. Nothing more could have been done to make the experience truly lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for a five year old :)”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

On a recent trip to the Gairloch area we decided to go on a glass bottomed boat trip. During a wander along the pier the evening before, we saw that the next trip was at noon the next day so we signed up. Upon arrival, the lady owner operator gave us a warm welcome as did her 6 week old puppy. During the briefing, she captivated the attention of the three youngsters by telling witty stories about wildlife they might see and set them off on the trip with educational activities to enhance their enjoyment. On the water, the hour and a half passed quickly with the group and skipper pointing out wildlife under and above the water. He was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and the highlight of the trip was when the youngsters (5 years old] got a chance to steer the boat back. Would recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday-dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtlasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful family fun”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have been coming to Gairloch every year for over 10 years and this was the first time we have done this trip. We have a 31/2 year old and 6 year old. They loved spotting all the sea creatures and it was wonderful to see the landscape we know so well from the water. Ric is funny, extremely knowledgable and very kind. He allowed the boys to steer the boat back to shore which they adored. We spent 11/2 hours on sea that was cam like a millpond in the sun. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Fun without being a tourist rip off. I would recommend to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Sealife Glass Bottom Boat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing