We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Gairloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I can emphasise with the other reviews on this site and can not fault this delightful place in any way. Spotlessly clean and a very comfortable night's sleep. Extremely well looked after by Isabell and Graham. I spent three nights in this beautiful house and every night I trooped over from the nearby camp site with friends and relatives who took it in turns to view this stunning property. No problem for the owners who put up with this carry-on as though it was all part and parcel of the business and treated everyone as very welcome guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doggerman357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I asked my husband to review this one ... he came up with ... "Comfortable room, great food, great view and wonderful people! There was a good shower there too, I seem to remember!".

Isabell and Graham are, indeed, wonderful people who open up their beautiful home to their guests, unreservedly. Our stay at Solas, with the stunning views to Skye and the Mountains, was all we had expected, and a little bit more!

Thank you both for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed these house owners easy-going, relaxed and friendly attitude. They have kept their house in perfect condition - it is fairly newly built, too - and everything is very clean and neat. You are also rewarded by a very beautiful and charming sea view and the beach is close and easily accessible. The breakfast was very homely and freshly prepared. It is very nice to see this couple being such a good team in caring for their guests. We have also been very thankful, since they sent something we forgot at their house back to Germany. This was absolutely kind and not taken for granted. Thank you for a lovely time!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Fabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed two nights here and loved the contemporary feel to the house, the eco friendly fixtures and great view. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was well appointed. Breakfast was served in the kitchen/ living room with the owners present and they were very welcoming and chatty. Breakfast was well cooked and coffee was prolific and excellent.
One comment: the room where one of us stayed had no mirror or drawers and the shower in the bathroom upstairs was for a very short person! But there was a lovely bath! The house is several miles outside the town of Gairloch, but the drive was easy and pleasant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

One of the best b&bs I've ever stayed. Very tidy, clean, warm - and, most of all, very friendly. Isabelle and Graham go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. Staying there feels like visiting old friends. Would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoshi_Anako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

5th August 2013. £60 per night
Isabelle and Graham's gorgeous Solas Bed & Breakfast is simply wonderful, and brilliant value for money.
Solas is one of the few B & B's in the area that will accept one night bookings.
Our ground floor room, (at the very end of the corridor), was spacious, tastefully decorated along clean Norwegian lines, and had fantastic views. Our room was light-filled with a big door that opened on to the lovely shared deck that overlooks the beautiful white sandy beach of 'Big Sand.' The spotlessly clean bathroom was compact, functional, and had a window overlooking the beach.
There is an excellent wall-mounted heater that warms the room in no time.
Isabelle and Graham put on a wonderful spread for breakfast the next morning. We felt so at home, and so enamoured by Isabelle and Graham, that we found it hard to drag ourselves away.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room at the very end of the corridor had the advantage of windows on one side and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u7jf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is one of the nicest places i have ever stayed!!! The house is beautifully kept with great attention paid to detail. Fresh milk for the tea and coffee n the room and a tin full of shortbread was a nice touch.The bed was comfy and it was very peaceful place to sleep The breakfast was cooked to order each morning and was just what you need to set yourself up for a days walking. Lastly Isabell and Graeme did everything they could to make me feel welcome in their home and if i could adopt a granny i would adopt Isabell:) Looking forward to my next visit:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gairloch hotels
5.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Millcroft
The Millcroft
#4 of 5 in Gairloch
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Muldoanich Bed & Breakfast
Muldoanich Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 18 in Gairloch
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aird Hill Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
1 mi away
Gairloch Sands Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solas Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Big Sand, Gairloch IV21 2DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Solas Bed And Breakfast Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing