We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treasure of a cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gairloch Pantry - CLOSED

The Gairloch Pantry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kentish lass
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Treasure of a cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stopped at the pantry for coffee and decided would return for lunch after visiting the Flowerglen arboretum . Coffee was good quality and lunch of high standard. Between us we had soup and bread, fish platter, venison burger and cheese scone. All yummy. Decided to return two days later for breakfast which was superb, bacon, sausage and egg buns, scrambled egg and smoked salmon all excellent value. We wish them well as staff very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasg0wmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to Gairloch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Having avoided the previous cafe on that site we noticed that it was in new hands and in we went. And we went the next day too. Delicious soups we enjoyed and home made cakes. Service was good and people friendly. Gairloch is better for this addition to a place to have snacks and drinks. We'll be back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kaybee210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

It 's a cold, wet & windy Sunday in December (8th) & I have just enjoyed the perfect antidote to such a miserable day..the wonderful 'Lairds Breakfast' served by helpful & friendly staff. Nice to see locals all enjoying the relaxed atmosphere of the Pantry. Would recommend Claire & her great Pantry to anyone visiting Gairloch, find her on the Harbour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great baking and great harbour views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The Gairloch Pantry is a breath of fresh air to the Gairloch Harbour area. It is open for breakfast (from 1000), lunch and excellent espresso coffee and homebaking. An excellent refurbishment of the previous cafe sees leather sofas and an impressive dresser in the corner, very welcoming. The menu is a cut above regular cafe dining, and my butternut squash and sweet potato soup was deliciously spicy. They offer fresh local smoked mackerel salads, burgers featuring haggis and venison and an exciting array of baking. I would have liked to see some locally baked granary bread on the menu, as the sinole whole meal slices let down an otherwise excellent meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So welcoming and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We'd been recommended the Gairloch pantry for an easy lunch and it was excellent: the food was very good, but the thing that really made it was the staff, who were really friendly and helpful, which is certainly appreciated when you've got three small children - they even popped out to get an ice-lolly they didn't have! (We didn't actually ASK them to do this, I hasten to add, in case you think I'm weirdly demanding.) Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gairloch Pantry also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing