We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best cakes, slices and scones in Gairloch”
Review of The Gairloch Pantry - CLOSED

The Gairloch Pantry
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easily the best cakes, slices and scones in Gairloch”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place is all about good ingredients, cooked well. Lovely home made soups, quiches, burgers, sandwiches and much more. Claire's menu is large enough to satisfy all family members' tastes but small enough that you know that it is all cooked fresh. The cakes are incredible, cooked daily and such a treat. The cakes are easily the best in the area - you would have to go a very long way to find anything that even comes close. The ice cream sundaes look pretty good too...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMLScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kentish lass
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Treasure of a cafe”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stopped at the pantry for coffee and decided would return for lunch after visiting the Flowerglen arboretum . Coffee was good quality and lunch of high standard. Between us we had soup and bread, fish platter, venison burger and cheese scone. All yummy. Decided to return two days later for breakfast which was superb, bacon, sausage and egg buns, scrambled egg and smoked salmon all excellent value. We wish them well as staff very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasg0wmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to Gairloch”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Having avoided the previous cafe on that site we noticed that it was in new hands and in we went. And we went the next day too. Delicious soups we enjoyed and home made cakes. Service was good and people friendly. Gairloch is better for this addition to a place to have snacks and drinks. We'll be back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kaybee210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

It 's a cold, wet & windy Sunday in December (8th) & I have just enjoyed the perfect antidote to such a miserable day..the wonderful 'Lairds Breakfast' served by helpful & friendly staff. Nice to see locals all enjoying the relaxed atmosphere of the Pantry. Would recommend Claire & her great Pantry to anyone visiting Gairloch, find her on the Harbour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great baking and great harbour views.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The Gairloch Pantry is a breath of fresh air to the Gairloch Harbour area. It is open for breakfast (from 1000), lunch and excellent espresso coffee and homebaking. An excellent refurbishment of the previous cafe sees leather sofas and an impressive dresser in the corner, very welcoming. The menu is a cut above regular cafe dining, and my butternut squash and sweet potato soup was deliciously spicy. They offer fresh local smoked mackerel salads, burgers featuring haggis and venison and an exciting array of baking. I would have liked to see some locally baked granary bread on the menu, as the sinole whole meal slices let down an otherwise excellent meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gairloch Pantry also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Poolewe, Ross and Cromarty
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing