We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boiler Breakdown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Boiler Breakdown”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have stayed here once before and found the room fine, clean, decent shower, rubbish tv and wi-fi temperamental but not an issue just look outside, some of the views are breathtaking.
Having booked for a second time I arrived late, cold and tired after 280 miles on a motorbike in the rain. I was concerned to find the whole place in darkness. However the owners invited me in explained the heating system was broken and that a room was held for me at the Old Inn two minutes down the road. A potential disaster averted I made my way to the alternative accommodation had a lovely meal and a fine couple of nights.
Now I imagine changing my sleeping arrangements was fairly straightforward, it was the manner in which I was dealt with that impressed. I was invited in to sit by the fire, offered a drink, even offered a share in the evening meal the couple were just sitting down to. That is proper hospitality at the end of what must have been, for them, a very long day.
I cannot recommend these hosts highly enough. This is not a holiday inn, its their home and you are treated like family. Go visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    53
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
68
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very enjoyable experience. We had a sea view bedroom, well worth the extra charge. The room was warm and comfortable as were the twin beds. Food was excellent and servings very generous. The staff were efficient and friendly. We took advantage of the four drinks per person per day package, and were pleasantly surprised to find that the sprits and mixes were all well known brand names. Over all, a lovely break and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing break amidst stunning scenery.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view, well worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Well i wnated to book the Old Inn, and after we had booked we were told we would be in the Highland Lodges,and I did not realise they are not just in a separate building but back on the main road and 200 metres up the hill, this means you have to get yourself out again for dinner, ok but but handy. I still dont know if they are linkied or not.? The rooms were great, the facillities were great, the information, the breakfast perfect. One major problem is the bar is available on a help yourself pay later basis. Souns good eh, but another group in at the time decided to party till 4.00 am so very noisy, the worst sleep i had on the whole trip. Maybe not the hotels fault but nevertheless a bit sad.I gave up on the tv, we had shower problems and the Wifi is pathetic, dont even try it. Anyway really nice people so we night use again but not having a restaurant defn a downer

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The sky TV here annoyed me, they beam just 4 channels into the rooms, but the system kept going into standby, so you kept losing half the screen with the warning and then nothing. Why beam in BBC London rather than BBC Scotland, so didn’t get a local weather forecast. No mobile signals for us either. My other gripe is that all the staff are foreign, so quite a language barrier. Slept well, we had a room with a lock view. Evening meals are at the Old Inn 5 minutes walk away. Real ale, nice meals.
Morning breakfast is buffet style, all the normal breakfast material, plus ham and chesses to make our European visitors feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Was not really sure of this hotel, no restaurant on the premices, located outside Gairloch, but our stay was a pleasant surprise, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, good breakfast.
Only thing that was missing was staff manning the bar in the lounge. This hotel has a honesty bar instead, but I find staff adding a pleasant atmosphere in a hotel.

Free wifi, but apart from the room, in the rest of the hotel a bit a matter of luck getting connected. The Hotel reccomends a restaurant five minutes down the road, called the Old Inn,
Would prefer a smaller restaurant, food is ok, but no atmosphere.
There are other restaurants in the area, not an issue not to prevent us to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Thought I was going to be dissapointed with this hotel as it was not in the centre of Gairloch (my mistake ) but it was a pleasant surprise. Staff friendle rooms quite larege and clean and the breakfast certainly value for money. Overall excellent value

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Spacious rooms, all facilities available, including free wireless. There was one challenge with the shower (pressure and temperature). There was a note at the reception mentioning this. Hotel has an "Honesty bar". It's like a mini bar in the hotel rooms but it's in the lounge. You get your drinks and snacks from a self service pantry and write down what you use.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DikvanOeveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
1.2 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Highland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Highland Lodge

Property: Gairloch Highland Lodge
Address: A835 and A832 | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gairloch Highland Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gairloch Highland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Highland Hotel
Gairloch Highland Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing