We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also with dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Also with dog”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Very friendly lady receptionist (German I think) dealt with our same night booking very efficiently and had thoughtfully given us a ground floor room in the separate building at the back - perfect for us and the dog. When we arrived the greeting for us and dog was friendly. The room was large and everything worked (although we didn't try the television). We had dinner at the Old Inn (the hotel card gives a small discount) which was good, although not surprisingly very crowded on a summer Friday. It is within easy walking distance.
The bed was large and we slept well and quietly.
The next morning the there was a rather glum man of mature years on reception, a contrast to the friendly welcome on the previous night. He was fine with humans but perhaps had been outvoted on the hotel's dog welcome policy.
Breakfast was fine although it didn't need the pop music accompaniment.
A large comfortable room, good value and friendly. We were lucky to find this at very short notice. Gairloch is a lovely place with plenty of shops, especially the butchers and bookshop, and a great beach for the dog.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWNPugin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    56
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
30
70
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We tried to book into the Old Inn after we read the reviews but it was full up and were referred to their sister hotel up the hill. When we were checking in the owner offered us a 'lodge' room with outside access because of the dog which was perfect. The bed was huge, the room had a little sofa and a separate table and chairs. The ensuite was great with walk in shower (no bath which we prefer).

There is no evening food you have to walk down to the Old Inn for food (which is good). The only few things that I need to mention for others to be aware of - we could hear the room next door (snoring loudly) through a locked adjourning door - this might be a problem for light sleepers who havent been to the Old Inn and had a skinful of sleeping juice. And for some reason our tv mysteriously went off late at night which we wondered was controlled outside of the room (we were trying to drown out the snoring from next door a little but we did not have it on loud). And we were asked to leave the dog in the car while we had breakfast rather than the room which was rather insulting for our pooch who is a well behaved traveller and has stayed in hundreds of hotels. Luckily there was no sun or that would have been a problem.

We've stayed in the area before and love the area - if you have a doggie there's fab walkies at Big Sands beach (if you're in a car you have to pay the caravan site a day fee but you can use all their facilities showers, toilets, kids park attractions etc too and the beach is huge dogs love it) or if you want to walk nearer to the hotel you can walk along the old quay side or across the road opposite the quay there is a long lane into the hills (birds of prey abound) just pass the Old Inn. The shops are good in Gairloch and the coffee cafe / bookshop a place to chill all day especially in certain Scottish weather conditions - great books, food and atmosphere - there was modern art upstairs too when we were there. No dogs in the book shop either though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have stayed here once before and found the room fine, clean, decent shower, rubbish tv and wi-fi temperamental but not an issue just look outside, some of the views are breathtaking.
Having booked for a second time I arrived late, cold and tired after 280 miles on a motorbike in the rain. I was concerned to find the whole place in darkness. However the owners invited me in explained the heating system was broken and that a room was held for me at the Old Inn two minutes down the road. A potential disaster averted I made my way to the alternative accommodation had a lovely meal and a fine couple of nights.
Now I imagine changing my sleeping arrangements was fairly straightforward, it was the manner in which I was dealt with that impressed. I was invited in to sit by the fire, offered a drink, even offered a share in the evening meal the couple were just sitting down to. That is proper hospitality at the end of what must have been, for them, a very long day.
I cannot recommend these hosts highly enough. This is not a holiday inn, its their home and you are treated like family. Go visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very enjoyable experience. We had a sea view bedroom, well worth the extra charge. The room was warm and comfortable as were the twin beds. Food was excellent and servings very generous. The staff were efficient and friendly. We took advantage of the four drinks per person per day package, and were pleasantly surprised to find that the sprits and mixes were all well known brand names. Over all, a lovely break and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing break amidst stunning scenery.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view, well worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Well i wnated to book the Old Inn, and after we had booked we were told we would be in the Highland Lodges,and I did not realise they are not just in a separate building but back on the main road and 200 metres up the hill, this means you have to get yourself out again for dinner, ok but but handy. I still dont know if they are linkied or not.? The rooms were great, the facillities were great, the information, the breakfast perfect. One major problem is the bar is available on a help yourself pay later basis. Souns good eh, but another group in at the time decided to party till 4.00 am so very noisy, the worst sleep i had on the whole trip. Maybe not the hotels fault but nevertheless a bit sad.I gave up on the tv, we had shower problems and the Wifi is pathetic, dont even try it. Anyway really nice people so we night use again but not having a restaurant defn a downer

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The sky TV here annoyed me, they beam just 4 channels into the rooms, but the system kept going into standby, so you kept losing half the screen with the warning and then nothing. Why beam in BBC London rather than BBC Scotland, so didn’t get a local weather forecast. No mobile signals for us either. My other gripe is that all the staff are foreign, so quite a language barrier. Slept well, we had a room with a lock view. Evening meals are at the Old Inn 5 minutes walk away. Real ale, nice meals.
Morning breakfast is buffet style, all the normal breakfast material, plus ham and chesses to make our European visitors feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Was not really sure of this hotel, no restaurant on the premices, located outside Gairloch, but our stay was a pleasant surprise, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, good breakfast.
Only thing that was missing was staff manning the bar in the lounge. This hotel has a honesty bar instead, but I find staff adding a pleasant atmosphere in a hotel.

Free wifi, but apart from the room, in the rest of the hotel a bit a matter of luck getting connected. The Hotel reccomends a restaurant five minutes down the road, called the Old Inn,
Would prefer a smaller restaurant, food is ok, but no atmosphere.
There are other restaurants in the area, not an issue not to prevent us to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
7.1 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
578 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Highland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Highland Lodge

Property: Gairloch Highland Lodge
Address: A835 and A832 | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gairloch Highland Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gairloch Highland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Highland Hotel
Gairloch Highland Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing