We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Shieldaig Lodge(Gairloch)
US$419
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolewe Hotel(Poolewe)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Torridon(Torridon)
US$434
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Millcroft(Gairloch)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gairloch Hotel(Gairloch)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Loch Maree Hotel(Talladale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aultbea Hotel(Aultbea)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinlochewe Hotel(Kinlochewe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
41
62
39
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
62
39
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barsister hotelstayed herebreakfast was buffet stylebunk bedsbath and showershort walkroom numbercooked itemsnice pubmotorbike tourluxury hotelbreakfast roomwhale watchingnight stayfamily roomenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed here one night. The room is very spacious, so the Bathroom. There is a self-service bar in the lounge (beers, wine, whisky, cocktails, snack) and a internetcomputer for free of use. Breakfast is served in the restaurant, but for dinner you will have to eat in the restaurant nearby (you get a 10% discount voucher for that). Food is great, so the breakfast menue.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batigol68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Before our most recent trip we were surprised at some of the "disappointed" reviews. This was our third visit and we have nothing bad to say. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all levels. On Sunday we ran out of petrol, and being the Highlands all filling stations were closed, and the manager went and got an emergency supply for us--without being asked. That's Highland hospitality for you!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tytler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I booked this lodge to stay at with our local motorcycle club, 8 of us in total. We phoned the Old Inn for rooms but was told they were full but they also owned the lodge and we could stay there. As it's not fully into the season we almost had the place to ourselves as it is not manned full time.
Breakfast is served in the lodge but we had to go to the Old Inn for our evening meal. We did not find this a convenience as it is only 5 mins walk and it was fine to get outside and nice to walk back after a meal. The breakfast was lovely, cereal, fruit juices, fruit and yogurt and self service for cooked breakfast. The toast was to die for, home made bread baked every day!!! Croissants were also lovely and you could help yourself to jam, honey or chocolate spread, mmmm.
The evening meal at the Old Inn was also excellent, very good home cooked food with local produce, plenty of fresh fish on the menu.
The twin rooms were clean and tidy with a small tv and tea and coffee facilities. There was a heater in the room that we could set to any temperature we needed. Our bathroom had a bath and shower but I don't think they all had a bath.
As we were bikers our clothes were wet when we arrived. These had to be aired all over the room so that they were dry for the morning, a bit of an inconvenience. To our delight the owner, Alistair, told us that they were going to add on a drying room for people like ourselves, walkers & cyclists to use. He was also planning to add on a small workshop with a lean-to so the bikes could be under cover over night. A real god send for bikers!!
I will definately be staying at the lodge again.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We were a party of three, spending a night in Gairloch visiting family. I had tried to book us into the Lodge's sister hotel, the Old Inn, but it was full. The rates seemed very reasonable, so I wasn't expecting a lot, but the room was clean, with comfortable beds. The shower was on the cramped side, but OK for a small person like me. We ate in the public bar of the Old Inn, for which we were given a 10% discount, and although the place was absolutely packed the food arrived pretty quickly. However be warned you have to order at the bar and pay upfront. Back at the Lodge later,we made use of the small, well-stocked honesty bar for a nightcap. In the morning, there was a nice selection of both hot and cold food for a buffet breakfast. All in all a pleasant stay, and I would certainly use the Lodge again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I booked because of the sights and the restaurant, but got none of them. The lodge is quite old fashioned and the rooms need some renevwal. It was clean but not any charming at all. Just entering the room I noticed a vibration and noise was coming from the wall which would have made our night, so I had to complain to the staff about it and told me it was the humidifier of the bathrooms and that they couldn't turn it down. After insititing and going out to have dinner in that lovely village, when we returned there was no sound anymore until first hour in the morning.
Wouldn't say it wasn't ok, but can't really recommend it compared to other lodges I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews