We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love period house in peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kerrysdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kerrysdale House
Ranked #15 of 17 Gairloch B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Love period house in peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Firstly, sorry for the late review. My husband and I stayed at Kerrysdale House for just 1 night last May as part of a longer driving holiday. The house is lovely and very well kept in picturesque private grounds. It is on the side of a road, but it's not busy and you don't hear anything. The house is outside of Gairloch in the countryside, but only a 10 min drive into the small town. Inside the decor is very tasteful and we had a large cosy room at the front of the house with a huge ensuite bathroom. All extrememly comfortable. The breakfast was one of the nicest ones we had on our trip with a good choice. All in all a very comfortable and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I enjoyed a pleasant stay at Kerrysdale house. It is a beautiful period house with spacious rooms decorated to a high standard. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and quickly settled in our room. The room was very comfortable with fairly average tea/coffee tray - speciality teas on the tray would have been a nice bonus. On a plus note, a notice in the room informed us fresh milk was available on request.

The breakfast was excellent - with a good range of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals available. The cooked breakfast was executed well, with a choice of Scottish breakfast, porridge or kippers. We did miss the presence of potato scones and black pudding from the menu, however we certainly were well fed all the same. It was pleasing to see that fruit scones were presented together with the toast.

Overall a very good experience, and worth the little bit extra.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eandsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed four nights. Hosts were friendly - with good tips about walking nearby. Breakfasts were excellent: you choose what you want the night before. Packed lunches were well suited to walking. Although isolated, the house is only a couple of miles from Gairloch, where there are plenty of good places to eat (especially the Old Inn). The road is not good to walk along (it's narrow, and the local traffic tends to drive rather fast), but there is a path that leads up from the back of the house. You may have trouble with a mobile signal (a not uncommon problem in the Highlands), but there is free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevWGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nether alderley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at Kerrysdale for 3 nights 2 weeks ago. We could not fault the experience from booking via phone & email to staying during the most fantastic weather. Mrs McRae is a charming hostess and provided super breakfasts and even supplied us with packed lunches each day which were tasty & varied. The room is comfortable and spacious with a large en suite shower room. we had our dog with us and the area around the house provided good morning dog walks too. We would not hesitate to recommend Kerrysdale.
Sue & Barry Smith

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alderedgemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

We recently stayed at Kerrysdale whilst up on business in the area. We found the whole experience to be exceptional, from the quick responce when booking through their website, to the freindly welcome and really warm room (wood-burning central heating!) We were pleasantly surprised to find that there was wireless internet available in our room. Breakfast was excellent, with choices from fresh fruit and yogurt to a full cooked Scottish.
On completion of our business, we extended our stay to take advantage of the beautiful surrounding area. Although the weather at this time of year is changeable, we enjoyed numerous walks in the area including along the fantastic local beach.
We would highly recommend Kerrysdale, whether on business or pleasure!

  • Liked — Warm, clean and Wi-Fi!
  • Disliked — Too far to walk to local restaurants
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PG5806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

My wife and I spent five nights at the Kerrysdale, the third time we've been there in the last five years. As usual, we were very comfortable and very well looked after.

We had the double room which does not have an en suite, but a large, separate private bathroom instead. That is £2 a night cheaper per person, and was just as good as an en suite as far as we were concerned.

The house is lovely, and the setting is beautiful.

Mrs Macrae is a very efficient and welcoming host. The breakfasts were very good, offering fruit as well as a cooked breakfast - and good coffee!

  • Liked — The house
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2007

We paid the highest room-rate of our trip, for our stay in Gairloch and are still puzzling what we got for our money. The house is lovely and our hostess was charming, but its a bit out of town with no sea views. Our hospitality tray was spartan and breakfast was average, but we didn't try the cooked breakfast.

  • Liked — Lovely house
  • Disliked — The tea tray!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ready_Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
1.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.1 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Inn
The Old Inn
#7 of 17 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerrysdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerrysdale House

Property: Kerrysdale House
Address: Kerrysdale Farm A832, Wester Ross Coastal Trail, Gairloch IV21 2AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run bed and breakfast situated on the edge of beautiful Gairloch village. Warm bright rooms with en suite bathrooms, large breakfast selection. Lots of walks and wildlife locally,also boat trips to spot dolphins, seals and otters. Guests from all over the world are amazed by the outstanding scenery in the local area! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kerrysdale House Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing