We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel fantastic location with excellent food and staff”
Review of Myrtle Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights and could not fault, Food first class and staff were excellent if your looking for a hotel in gairloch this is the one

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunter032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Myrtle Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed here for 10 days with a number of colleagues. This length of period can be long in a local hotel, but this was surely not the case for the Myrtle bank hotel. The location is beautiful, on the Loch. The rooms are very clean, have all necessities and most of all have a very comfortable bed. Wireless internet in the hotel is a valuable bonus.
We intended to eat at other restaurants in the area but did not manage as we were all very pleased with the quality of the food. Between us we have worked our way through the menu and all meals, all courses, were EXCELLENT! With added daily specials I did not have to eat the same twice, although I did get back to some favorite dishes.
The freshly cooked, royal, breakfasts are a great start to the day .
The bar has a nice atmosphere of a local pub with the option to play pool or darts.
But what really makes this hotel stand out from others is besides all the ticked boxes above, the very friendly staff. Every member of staff is friendly, helpful and give you a welcoming and homely feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We live locally, and have been using the hotel bar for some time. It was our anniversary and hubby didn't feel up to going to our usual hotel, although only 18 miles away, so we decided to use the Myrtle Bank as many freinds of ours had said how good it is.
On the day, our meal was very good : excellent craik in the bar before and after dinner : and a wonderfully comfortable and swish suite with views looking out from Gairloch Bay across to the Isle of Skye.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the staff so friendly, and the owners most feel like they are old friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikeybadachro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We are frequent visitors to this Hotel for 2 night stays. We love the position of this Hotel close to the sea, the view of the sea and the comfort of the large room with beautifully comfortable large beds! The breakfast is always delicious. We always choose to have our evening meal here - faultless. Our idea of heaven but not everyone likes "nothing to do" !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank methvenPerth_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August of 2010. It's a nice little hotel located right on the waterfront in downtown Gairloch. The room was a good size and clean. We had a few beers in the little pub downstairs, it was quiet but the beer was good. The next morning breakfast was included and it was pretty decent with eggs bacon etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB_Highlander10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Typical Scotland ...... 4 seasons in one day.
Amazing view from the room, wonderful food in the restaurant, very good value wine list, top quality service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhistlerMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Good, quiet hotel by the side of the loch with views across to Skye. Service just right, not too much fuss. Room OK and dinner and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonaldShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.4 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
212 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
269 reviews
8.1 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Hotel

Address: Low Road | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome to the Myrtle Bank Hotel. We are located in the heart of the Highlands on the shores of Gairloch, an ideal base from which to explore the unspoilt beauty of Wester Ross, famous for it's spectacular sunsets, rugged scenery and it's golden sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing