We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My only complaint!”
Review of Myrtle Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I asked to see the owner, I informed him I had a complaint. I told him it was disgraceful they as a paying customer he gave me nothing to complain about.

This hotel is a credit to his passion, devotion, attention to detail and most of all great value.

We loved our stay, the food was of a top resteraunts quality and the room and facilities were in our opinion fabulous.

We were touring on a motorcycle and only had one night here, had we known it was going to be so good we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

This hotel sits on the seafront. The view on a good day is magnificent: west across the sea to Skye; north to north west round the coast to Gairloch itself and south to south west some rugged Scottish hills. The only room available for me (a late booking) was the en-suite family room (for which I did pay a single supplement). For a solo traveller this was extremely spacious and had an excellent very controllable shower (and a bath which I did not use) and the view... it was worth paying the supplement. The breakfast is one of the best I have seen, with a wide selection of cereals, juices and fruits and also a wide selection for the all important cooked breakfast. I ate my evening meals at the hotel, in the bar. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced too with that view out over the sea. And finally the conservatory at the front provides a cosy seating area to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The title says it all. Quiet, relaxing, friendly and out of a picture postcard. The room was very comfortable and was no more and no less than what I would expect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The Myrtle Bank was our 3rd hotel in 3 nights. My husband and I and another couple were on a driving tour of Scotland. We arrived at the hotel late afternoon and were immediately welcomed by the friendly people on reception. We had booked the only suite available and the king room. The suite was fantastic (but unfortunately our friends stayed in that one!) and the king room was also good (our only tiny complaint is that the bed wasn't that great - big but could feel springs). We joined our friends in their room to have a cup of coffee and relax (as they had a separate sitting room) and then we had dinner in the restaurant. The food was fantastic and service spot on. We got chatting to the owner who shared a love of fast cars and he even brought down his TVR the next morning so we could take some pictures! The hotel is right on the beach so obviouisly the views were amazing. Breakfast was fantastic in the morning - lots of choice and freshly made hot breakfasts. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights - delightful room, huge and beautifully decorated. Bathroom also new and very tasteful. The staff were friendly and helpful; breakfast very tasty and portions generous - you won't be hungry all day! A high standard of cleanliness was evident and overall a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere made a super short break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SutherlandSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very comfortable room our double bed was huge. Food was very good and plentiful, breakfasts were all you needed to last the day. Staff were obliging and friendly

Room Tip: Sea view is a must just stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chugslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed for two nights in room 10. Very comfortable bed and well decorated room. No over head shower only drawback in a stunning bathroom. We are vegetarians and used to the old frozen ready meals when we go out but not in this hotel-DELICIOUS fresh meals -only problem-big portions meant we couldn't have a pudding on both nights!!! Food very reasonably priced! Good choice at breakfast and we were offered veggie sausages and veggie haggis-haggis yummy!!!
Sitting outside with a glass of wine-BLISS!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Millcroft
The Millcroft
#4 of 5 in Gairloch
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
377 reviews
15 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
635 reviews
8.1 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Hotel

Address: Low Road | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome to the Myrtle Bank Hotel. We are located in the heart of the Highlands on the shores of Gairloch, an ideal base from which to explore the unspoilt beauty of Wester Ross, famous for it's spectacular sunsets, rugged scenery and it's golden sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing