We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforatable, spacious, a home away from home”
Review of The Millcroft

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millcroft
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment for four days during our trip to Scotland in July. The apartment was spacious, comfortable with great views in every room. This was a convenient location to explore this area of Scotland and a great value for the price. The new owners had only been there for two weeks and made us feel at home from the beginning. Lynda and her family were all gracious and helpful. We felt their excitement of their new business venture and know they will only make this charming hotel even better. When we come back to Scotland we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: the one bedroom apartment was excellent, with great views. We could not believe how much room we ha...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butterfly828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for The Millcroft
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Millcroft Hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of Gairloch. We were greeted with a smile from a very helpful member of staff. Our twin bedded room (Room 4) had amazing views. (see photos) But the room could do with a facelift as could the whole hotel, its all looking a little tired, with cracks on the walls and ceilings. They seem to like the colour red as our room and the restaurant were exactly the same colour (see photos).There was a sign outside saying it was now under new management, so l am sure they will start decorating soon. Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay at The Millcroft and slept very well, though the beds were a little bouncy for my liking. The full Scottish breakfast was perfect with a good selection, which we had to choose the day before. Overall l would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FizzScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We booked two of the self-catering apartments for our 3 day stay and were greeted by Lynda, the new proprietor who is a lovely lady, friendly, helpful and quite witty! The food was excellent, served by helpful and cheery staff.who were eager for feedback and took comments to the chef, who used parma ham with the scallops after I commented that the bacon overpowered the dish. Lynda told us that she was aware that a lot of upgrading and changes need to be made. As she is only 5 weeks into the job we look forward to going back soon as it was definitely worth our long journey from the east coast of Scotland .

Eddie Shaw

Room Tip: The self-catering apartments allow a more relaxed experience
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieS1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Camping at Sands campsite and went to the millcroft for lunch. Food was lovely, portions generous and price reasonable. Served by the owner who was keen to welcome us in, children, dogs and all. They have apparently not long taken over the hotel and have lots of plans for it. Would definitely recommend a stop if passing through or staying in Gairloch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inversneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was our first time staying at the millcroft and we will definitely be back! The new owners were VERY welcoming and friendly! The food was excellent and as the food is served in the restaurant and not the bar you get to enjoy the beautiful views over dinner. All the staff were very helpful and polite. The room was lovely, it had a fantastic view and the bed was very comfy! The bar was also lovely,it had a very welcoming atmospher. We can't wait to go back to the millcroft and stay again,it was brilliant!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We've had dinner at the Millcroft almost every day during our 2 week holiday in Gairloch, and it has been wonderful. We didn't really feel like cooking every day on holiday, so we went to have dinner at the Millcroft and it quickly become our favorite place to eat! The new owners were really friendly and always up for a little chat. The food was absolutely delicious! We enjoyed many different dishes and the view from the hotel was amazing. We will definitely be back next year, if not sooner!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank EstherCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was my first time staying in Gairloch and I found staying at the Millcroft Hotel everyone was very welcoming, room was very nice and the food was excellent.

Very nice people in front and behind the bar.

I will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missdarcy1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.9 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
158 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
215 reviews
8.5 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
205 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft

Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range: £31 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel in the Highlands of Scotland. We are located in the centre of Gairloch (NC500), overlooking the bay. We have sea-view en-suites and a number of self-catering apartments available as well as our public bar and our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing