We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and fantastic food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millcroft Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in Gairloch after yet another fantastic holiday. That holiday was made all the better by the warm welcome that we recieved at the Millcroft which we visited on four seperate evenings for a meal. Firstly we received a warm welcome every time without fail. The staff here really do go the extra mile to make you feel welcome at the millcroft. We had a fussy teenager who had just passed his standard grades with good marks. His love is pepperoni pizza. He was served each visit with a fantastic pizza cooked to perfection with loads of pepperoni - Score 11/10. The adults had more traditional meals all served freshly and to perfection. The best cullen skink for miles around. We are looking forward to our next visit in October.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    35
    15
    13
    15
See reviews for
34
55
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just had 2 weeks in Gairloch and went to the Millcroft every day. It is a charming place where everybody is made to feel very welcome. Mike, Michael, Joseph, Les, Anne Marie and Chloe all deserve to be mentioned as they made our holiday one to remember. The food was also wonderful! One word of warning....... make sure you are hungry Portion sizes are massive! Excellent local food which was cooked to a fantastic standard by the Chef. Well done team and thank you . Will be back x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannyedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

thought i would right a review for the first time ever Me and my partner went to millcroft couple yrs back folk were nice but bar was a tad grubby .We booked to stay this yr from the 12th july for 7 nights into the one bedroom apartment which was basic but clean and tidy well equiped was value for money.After 1st night got to meet some of the locals for a game of killer pool we felt as if we had been goin there for yrs people very friendly ,New owners Lynda and her family had taken over last yr and there was a huge difference and I am sure there will be even more of a differnce when we return in the new year Wouldnt go by this hotel for friendliness and afford ability .Would like to thank Lynda ,Les,Michael Yurky the chef Thomas the pool shark and Tam for great company and good holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This had to be one of the friendliest Hotels i have had the pleasure to stay in, the food was excellent and had a very varied choice. This family run business is a joy to see. My room which i was told had been newly decorated was lovely. The whole experience is one you should try. A real home from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerome p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I enjoyed my one night at the Millcroft Hotel. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. I slept well, and the food was excellent. The downstairs pub was a very helpful distraction in a town with little going on. I would say that I second the opinion of another reviewer in that it could use a little touching but then again, the price is pretty reasonable. In addition, while there is good wi-fi in the lobby it is hard to pick up in the rooms or even in portions of the restaurant. Nevertheless, a fine and friendly stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentlemanexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

This review is a little late as I enjoyed a meal here last April and am only getting round to reviewing now.
Was taken out for dinner in the Millcroft shortly after the present owners took over. I would never have known that the staff and owners were new to the area and the hotel. Very friendly and welcoming staff.

The restaurant, at the time, was in need of an overhaul, not sure whether or not this has taken place but as the owners were new I would not have held this against them.

The meal was lovely, perhaps quite plain and simple and not very exciting looking, but all courses were very tasty and were exactly as described on the menu. Portion sizes were excellent and the whole meal was very reasonably priced. The service was second to none and we never had to ask for anything as all our needs were offered to us beforehand. The staff are very friendly, and clearly had previous experience in dealing with the public.

This hotel is located next to Gairloch Caravan Site, and I would recommend anyone staying there on holiday to walk to the few hundred yards to the 'Mille' to sample the lovely food, which is locally sourced where possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfmm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and was very happy with everything. The the family running the hotel are most welcoming and lovely people. Will definitely be going back in the summer for a weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danhmfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft Hotel

Property: The Millcroft Hotel
Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel, Bar and Bistro is a family friendly hotel and restaurant located in Gairloch, in the North West Highlands of Scotland. We offer both hotel rooms and self catering apartments to suit whatever type of holiday or trip you are planning. Sea views are available in most of our rooms here at the Millcroft, and a traditional hot or continental breakfast is included within hotel prices . The Millcroft has two dining rooms, The Stag's Head and Hartley's Bistro, both of which boast breathtaking views of Loch Gairloch and the Isle of Skye. With our passionate kitchen and waiting team, we will make sure you have a perfect meal. We also offer a children's menu which includes a free ice-cream with every child's meal. The Millcroft has two bars, which have a fine selection of Local Ales and Whiskey for you to try whilst enjoying your stay or meal at The Millcroft. The Millcroft is only a short walk from local amenities such as a convenience shop, bus stop and chemist. Beaches are also only a short walk from The Millcroft. Our apartments are pet friendly, and your furry friends can stay for an additional charge per day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing