We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a refreshing stay in Wester Ross” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Millcroft Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millcroft Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely a refreshing stay in Wester Ross”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014 on a short trip to Wester Ross. The hotel was booked by my travelling companion, who knew the area but had not stayed here before. We had a lovely visit, the room was clean with comfortable beds, nice quality shower, kettle etc provided. The room I had overlooked the bay and the stunning scenery. The staff were very welcoming and the food was fantastic both at breakfast and evening meals. There were repeat customers in the hotel when we were there and if I travel to Gairloch again I shall certainly try to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCG768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    35
    15
    13
    15
See reviews for
34
55
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Two brothers and a mate on a photography weekend . . . The Millcroft Hotel is an excellent place to stay, if you like the personal touch of a family run hotel. We were welcomed by Lynda, the "boss", she went that extra mile. Her daughter Anne-Marie, again, couldn't do enough. Why would you want to stay anywhere else if you are in this area. We had a great laugh with the family and the locals in the bar. All we can say is thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MasseyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice hotel trying their best to make it work. Nice twin room overlooking Gairloch bay - smallish, and an older place but its the Highlands not a big impersonal city!!! The evening meal was really very good and we had it in the bar which had a good atmosphere. Breakfast was again excellent and you choose what you want the night before. Ok it looks dated and on the outside a bit tatty but the owners are doing a good job and hopefully it will continue to improve as its a great location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a must visit in Gairloch. Excellent food and perfect service. A real local pub which is family run and really needs to get onto the Restaurant part of trip advisor.
My husband and I had a fantastic meal and evening here on our recent visit to Gairloch. You really are made to feel welcome and feel they really are happy to have you in there... Unlike some other establishments where we had intended to eat and no one even spoke to us or asked could they help... Their loss and our gain on going to The Millcroft. Don't miss it if you are visiting. Can recommend the Chicken Balmoral which my husband had and the gnocchi which I had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We ate here on saturday night and were very pleased with the service. The food was good basic home cooking . The portions were plenty big enough. We left the chips .This would appear to be a family run hotel. The waitress was friendly and exelent a

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavinzgillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ate here while staying in the area, 3 times in 3 nights! that's how good it was. both food and service were first class, nice view of Gairloch from the restaurant. Would thoroughly recommend, try the tower burger if you fancy a challenge (man v's food style)

Room Tip: Didnt stay, only dined
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had our dinner in the "lounge bar" 3 times during our visit to Gairloch, seafood excellant, waitress very pleasant, good view across Gairloch, no complaints, that's why we went 3 times.
Never stayed in the residential part of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintageandretyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.9 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#4 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft Hotel

Property: The Millcroft Hotel
Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel, Bar and Bistro is a family friendly hotel and restaurant located in Gairloch, in the North West Highlands of Scotland. We offer both hotel rooms and self catering apartments to suit whatever type of holiday or trip you are planning. Sea views are available in most of our rooms here at the Millcroft, and a traditional hot or continental breakfast is included within hotel prices . The Millcroft has two dining rooms, The Stag's Head and Hartley's Bistro, both of which boast breathtaking views of Loch Gairloch and the Isle of Skye. With our passionate kitchen and waiting team, we will make sure you have a perfect meal. We also offer a children's menu which includes a free ice-cream with every child's meal. The Millcroft has two bars, which have a fine selection of Local Ales and Whiskey for you to try whilst enjoying your stay or meal at The Millcroft. The Millcroft is only a short walk from local amenities such as a convenience shop, bus stop and chemist. Beaches are also only a short walk from The Millcroft. Our apartments are pet friendly, and your furry friends can stay for an additional charge per day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing