We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Dinner”
Review of The Millcroft

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millcroft
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dinner”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner on our last night in Gairloch here and we left happy.

The menu was varied and the prices were reasonable. They had a great drinks menu with so much too choose from.

The view from the window of the Millcroft was stunning. Looking out towards the loch with the Isle of Skye in the distance, fantastic!

Overall, a lovely evening and great food!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richjE87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    15
    13
    15
See reviews for
35
58
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We've been to many "American" restaurants in Glasgow, they're not a patch on the Milcroft! The chef makes the best ribs, slow cooked brisket, mac'n'cheese and burgers ever! I think the chef is Canadian, you can tell this is food he is very comfortable preparing. Can not rate the food or the
the excellent service highly
enough in this family run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katsey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Recently returned south after having a great family holiday in Gairloch.
Although we rented a cottage we ended up most evenings in the bar of the Millcroft where we were made very welcome including our two dogs.
We had various meals which were all most enjoyable especially the mussels which were superb and very reasonably priced.
Enjoyed the pool competitions v the locals and thanks to all at the Millcroft for your hospitality.
See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,856 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We ate here several times on our stay in Gairloch, partly because the views over the loch from the restaurant are wonderful. The menu is very limited for non-meat eaters and some items are extremely expensive. We enjoyed more modestly priced fish and chips and scampi and chips, both of which were good. Pizzas are also good, and one can add toppings of one's personal choice. Staff are very friendly and the place has a pleasant, welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014 on a short trip to Wester Ross. The hotel was booked by my travelling companion, who knew the area but had not stayed here before. We had a lovely visit, the room was clean with comfortable beds, nice quality shower, kettle etc provided. The room I had overlooked the bay and the stunning scenery. The staff were very welcoming and the food was fantastic both at breakfast and evening meals. There were repeat customers in the hotel when we were there and if I travel to Gairloch again I shall certainly try to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCG768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Two brothers and a mate on a photography weekend . . . The Millcroft Hotel is an excellent place to stay, if you like the personal touch of a family run hotel. We were welcomed by Lynda, the "boss", she went that extra mile. Her daughter Anne-Marie, again, couldn't do enough. Why would you want to stay anywhere else if you are in this area. We had a great laugh with the family and the locals in the bar. All we can say is thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MasseyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice hotel trying their best to make it work. Nice twin room overlooking Gairloch bay - smallish, and an older place but its the Highlands not a big impersonal city!!! The evening meal was really very good and we had it in the bar which had a good atmosphere. Breakfast was again excellent and you choose what you want the night before. Ok it looks dated and on the outside a bit tatty but the owners are doing a good job and hopefully it will continue to improve as its a great location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
8.5 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
179 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft

Property: The Millcroft
Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel in the Highlands of Scotland. We are located in the centre of Gairloch (NC500), overlooking the bay. We have sea-view en-suites and a number of self-catering apartments available as well as our public bar and our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing