We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
68
47
19
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
47
19
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalt whiskyevening foodgreat companyfish and chipslick of paintcharming hotelsunday eveningcranachanscottish breakfastsmoked salmoncullen skinksea viewisle of skyemenuruthbistroscotland
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We were staying in Gairloch for one night and chose The Millcroft for some evening food. We were made welcome and presented with menus. My wife chose soup and a roll and I chose Cullen Skink - a creamy seafood soup with smoked fish and potatoes - both of which were delicious. For desert I tried a Cranachan, tempted by the meringue, raspberries and a hint of whisky. It was a heavenly desert and the hint of whisky turned out to be a little more than a wee dram - magnificent! My wife's desert was a little disappointing - she chose a chocolate and marshmallow cheesecake - but none was left on the plate and we would happily return to The Millcroft for a meal in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MadPierre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlomas44, General Manager at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review for The Millcroft. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We had a night stopover here while doing the NC500 and found the Hotel exceptional we had room number 2 which overlooked the loch, it was very well maintained with a fantastic view. We also found the staff very good as with the restaurant and bar we will definitely return here

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fishx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlomas44, General Manager at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Millcroft, thank you for finding the time to leave such a kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We have visited the Millcroft many times over the last 20 years or so for an evening meal and for the first time, we were so disappointed.
We arrived quite early - about 5.40pm - meals are available from 5pm so we weren't arriving before evening food was available. A helpful lady met us and immediately apologised for a possible delay as the "waitress hadn't arrived yet" and she was having to both serve in the bar - which was busy - as well as cover the dining area. However, she gave us some menus and then took our order while still managing to keep the bar going. We saw the waitress finally arrive at 5 past 6 and almost immediately, she brought us our food - very fast service - perhaps too fast? We had not been given any cutlery so she went off to fetch this - taking someone's else's order for drinks on the way! With rapidly cooling food on the table,my wife went to collect it from her. We then realised we didn't have any napkins so we made do with our own paper tissues - it seemed easier.
Some of the food we had was ok but the hand cut chips were completely raw in the centre and only the outer edges were edible. Not an enjoyable meal not only because of the food and the poor service but also because we couldn't help but notice that the whole dining area is very rundown and rather seedy. The wall paper looked newish but the paint work was chipped and grubby, surfaces and fitments were dirty and the seating was stained and extremely uninviting.
We paid and left as soon as we could with the first lady apologising for the uncooked food. It is very doubtful that we will visit the Millcroft again unless we hear from our friends and relatives in the area that it has improved considerably by the time we next visit.
Such a shame.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlomas44, General Manager at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

I am sorry to hear about your disappointing return visit to The Millcroft this year and that you did not enjoy the food, or find the service satisfactory. We agree that the dining room is looking tired and hope to spend some time renovating this area over the coming months to make it more comfortable for future guests.

We hope that you do decide to return one day and have a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We chose the apartments in the Millcroft Hotel on recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed. As we like to take our family pet with us and were pleased to find they accepted dogs.
From the minute of arrival, we found the staff to be most helpful and cheery, all our queries were answered most efficiently.
One of the things we appreciated was the separate entrance to the apartments, meaning we could take our dog in without her trying to get other guests to spoil her (she is far too friendly). The apartment we had booked was the smallest one and we were more than happy with it. The bed and pristine bed linen were a joy and the lounge area had very comfortable seating. Maybe could do with a lick of paint during the quiet Season, and bathroom does need up dating, but was clean and had good functioning shower. Also would be handy if there was a small hoover in the flat.
We ate in the hotel several times and would have happily eaten our way through the menu. The Chef's linguine was out of this world, and as far as the Sweets go, pure heaven according to the foodie in our party We asked for a slight change to one of the dishes we ordered one night, owing to an allergy and this proved to be no problem. Another nice thing as far as holiday makers are concerned is that they allow dogs in the Public Bar. A bonus as more and more travellers are taking their dogs with them on holiday.
All together a most enjoyable holiday and will most certainly be returning in the very near future

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlomas44, General Manager at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback on our self-catering apartment and we are so happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, too! We hope to welcome you back to The Millcroft soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This hotel was a peaceful and tastefully decorated place. It was comfortable and well-situated, with great food and even better service. Our boat tour we had booked was unexpectedly cancelled, and the staff offered to help us phone around to all the other boat tours to see whether there were any openings. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I would 100% recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 993zoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlomas44, General Manager at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We take a lot of pride in catering to our guest's needs and it makes us so happy to receive feedback like this. I will make sure to pass your comments on to the rest of the team at The Millcroft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews