We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation.”
Review of Affcot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Affcot Lodge
Ranked #15 of 22 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation.”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked in for an overnight stay and we were really impressed with the whole experience. The staff were very friendly and accomodating.The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
The breakfast was fantastic and the evening meal was superb.We would definately return if we were ever in the area again .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    25
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
43
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

we set out on Friday evening from North Wales with a case packed, last minute and no accomodation booked and let our 7 year old daughter make direction decisions at each roundabout and junction, we stopped here at about 7.00 pm to eat and ask hopefully for a room for the night, not holding much hope as the bar area was packed, luckily a room was available due to a cancelation and how lucky we were.

Fantastic evening meal, superb room and lovely couple running the property, nothing was to much trouble during our stay and we most definatly return again

Thanks very much a very very lovely place with fantastic managers .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekers1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
I was pleased to be able to find you a room. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great food and accomodation in a beautiful rural setting. Quiet setting with great staff to serve you.
Ask for Paul baker. We were travelling here for a concert at church Stretton arts festival and the lodge served us food as late as 10pm. Comfortable beds and large rooms.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Huw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
I was more than happy to open the kitchen at 10pm so feed you. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Faultless service and charming guest house. Ask for Paul Baker the manager.
Highly recommended in this very soecial part of the world.
Comfortable rooms and local ales. Every effort made to accomodate, includingg very early breakfast and late dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Staying here in atrocious weather whilst going to a nearby wedding reception was an ideal choice. Large comfortable room, food good at dinnertime & evening. Not over busy due to weather, but still enough people to give it a good atmosphere.
Breakfast was also quickly and smoothly sorted.
Very handy for the many places in the area. And being right on the main road (no traffic noise problem), meant there was no struggling to find i.t.
Just one little niggle to keep Paul on his toes.
The Rose wine we ordered with dinner was not the one we got.
Drinking it before we noticed. Someone a bit more wine snobbish would have pulled a nose at the slightly sweeter taste to go with the fish.
A different wine to the one ordered should always be pointed out.
Stay here again?
We jolly well would.

Room Tip: If you prefer a larger room, just ask on booking. Quieter rooms at far end from pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the wine. We had just changed our wine menu! Next time I will ensure its the correct one! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We prefer our accommodation to be in Farm Stays, but Affcot Lodge was the exception. We stumbled across this place by accident and we were so glad we decided to stay. This was a fantastic place about 10 miles from Ludlow. The rooms have been very nicely renovated and very large. We even had our evening dinner in the restaurant and it was delicious. So too was breakfast in the morning and the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Truly recommend you give this one a try!

Room Tip: We had a room with a queen bed, a single bed and an ensuite bathroom. Really large and first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your review. Next time you passing be sure to pop in and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Room was upgraded free of charge on arrival :) everything and every one was absolutely fantastic !! I will be stopping here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reckless-rat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
I was very pleased to be able to offer you a free upgrade! I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
4.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
244 reviews
7.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
889 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
443 reviews
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affcot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affcot Lodge

Property: Affcot Lodge
Address: Upper Affcot, Church Stretton SY6 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Affcot Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally called the Travellers Rest, The Affcot Lodge has changed ownership and has undergone substantial refurbishment. It reopened for business on 1st July 2011 and is owned and now managed by Chris and Wendy and there loyal team.Situated in Upper Affcot on the A49 between Church Stretton and Craven Arms the Affcot Lodge Hotel offers comfortable upgraded accommodation, extensive bar facilities, daily menus, fresh local produce, and Sunday Carvery. Whether you are local, or planning a visit to South Shropshire soon, the Lodge is the ideal place to stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Affcot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affcot Hotel Church Stretton
Affcot Lodge Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing