We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1st time Stay”
Review of Affcot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Affcot Lodge
Ranked #16 of 22 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent 1st time Stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have just returned from a visit to family and stayed overnight at the Affcot Lodge. Although my parents had previously stayed there, it was my first visit. We checked-in en route, and we were given our keys in case we didn't get back until late. Our rooms were delightful, tastefully decorated, very clean throughout, with curtains that kept out the light (although at this time of year it wasn't a problem). There was plenty of storage cupboards if needed. Flat screen tv with FreeView channels and the usual tea/coffee making facilities were all included. The beds were made up nicely and speaking for my own, it was very comfortable and I had an excellent night's sleep. There were plenty of available sockets to cope with the technology that accompanies most of us when we travel these days. The en suite bathroom was spacious and warm, with fresh, clean towels, naturally!

It was lovely to have the space in the room for when I needed my wheelchair, and certainly being able to move around the bathroom was great, rather than only just having space to take a step in either direction.
On a personal note....a grab rail/handle in the shower would be an extremely useful addition.

We ate in the bar, choosing a snack rather than a full meal. This was delicious and served quickly, again, for me, it was good that we didn't have to move to a table but we could enjoy our snacks where we had been sitting in the bar. Breakfast offered a good choice, juice; cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, along with tradition full English and of course toast etc.

Paul, the manager, his wife and all the staff with which we had contact were professional, polite, friendly and willing to make sure that we had everything that we needed to enjoy our stay.

I will certainly recommend the Affcot Lodge to friends & family and I will be looking forward to my next visit to family, so that I can again experience the comfort and friendliness that the Affcot Lodges offers its visitors.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    25
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
43
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I stayed here on a short break, wanting a place to relax and close enough to ludlow to do some christmas shopping. As i was on my own i wanted somewhere i felt comfortable and after looking at the reviews i decided affcot lodge was worth a shot. emma and her husband made my feel welcome from the moment i walked in...they could not do enough to make me feel at home and looked after. my room was fantastic-absolutely nothing i would change, the breakfasts were brilliant...they fully cater for vegetarians which was like a dream. the food in their restaurant was lovely. I absolutely cannot fault affcot lodge...I feel like a very lucky person to have been so well cared and catered for. you get over and above here , i cannot reccomend this place enough. I will definitely be returning xx

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiegrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We didn't stay here but ate an evening meal here recently and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. There was a good choice of pub style meals and both my husband and I opted for something from the specials board as a main course. We were really pleased with both our choices; portion size was good and the quality of the food was excellent. The service was quick and the waitress very friendly and welcoming. If we are in the area again, we would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teabag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

group booking for walking club- everyone enjoyed it good food lovely rooms freindly heplful staff no complaints, good location for walking in Church Stretton area, plenty places to visit, nice Bar area to relax in the evening

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We recently stayed at Affcot Lodge and had a brilliant time. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we had efficient and friendly service. The room was warm and comfortable and the food was excellent. The lodge is in an interesting area with plenty of places to visit. Highlights were Stokesay Castle, the Stiperstones and Bog Mine cafe and Ludlow.
The service went on beyond our visit! We left a battery charger behind and this was sent to us straight away and by 1st Class post. Thanks to everyone.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am glad the charger got to you safety! Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed at the Lodge for four nights with our Fell Walking Club,could not fault anything,the rooms the food the beer all great value. The staff could not have been better,nothing was to much trouble Paul the manager and Helen and all the staff. Would highly recommend Affcot Lodge to all, plus the walking in the area is wonderfull.

Room Tip: If light sleepers choose rooms furthest from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you your kind words Alan. We are pleased the weekend went well. The weather was kind to you all! Lets hope we see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding nearby.

Very nice place run by a lovely couple who were willing to help in any way they could.

We had an evening meal & breakfast here - both of which were very nice.

If ever in the area again would have no hesitation to stay at Affcot Lodge

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, Manager at Affcot Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We read all the reviews and they are most helpful to my team and I. Hopefully you will chose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
4.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
242 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
763 reviews
7.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
435 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 9 in Craven Arms
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affcot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affcot Lodge

Property: Affcot Lodge
Address: Upper Affcot, Church Stretton SY6 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Affcot Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally called the Travellers Rest, The Affcot Lodge has changed ownership and has undergone substantial refurbishment. It reopened for business on 1st July 2011 and is owned and now managed by Chris and Wendy and there loyal team.Situated in Upper Affcot on the A49 between Church Stretton and Craven Arms the Affcot Lodge Hotel offers comfortable upgraded accommodation, extensive bar facilities, daily menus, fresh local produce, and Sunday Carvery. Whether you are local, or planning a visit to South Shropshire soon, the Lodge is the ideal place to stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Affcot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affcot Hotel Church Stretton
Affcot Lodge Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing