We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we can highly recommend this B&B where we had a warm welcome and a delicious breakfast”
Review of The Mount B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mount B&B
Ranked #20 of 22 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2010

10 minute walk to centre of Church Stretton ,where we had a fun evening in a new Tapas bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSteeleMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

The Mount is a fantastic place to stay, it is not just a run of the mill B&B, it is Louise & Martins home. This makes for a warm & welcoming place to stay for anybody wanting to escape for a relaxing weekend, for me one of the best places I've stayed. The room (Blue room) was faultless & the bathroom was just lovely. The breakfast was fabulous, everything you could want was there, Louise even sliced up my soren loaf I had taken for my packed lunch. I hope I will visit again soon & would highly recommend this B&B to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This had to be our best bed and breakfast experience ever. A true boutique B & B.
A large elegant Edwardian family home set in a private garden. The Edwardian character tastefully maintained and yet blended with modern bathroom facilities. Beautiful linens and a wide range of thoughtful accessories. A host and hostess who provide a sumptuous breakfast with friendly and attentive service. With only a limited number of rooms used for guests you are truly pampered.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck101Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Was planing on going camping in Rattlinghope - but weather so bad when we got to Church Stretton - thank god Martin & Louise had a room available.
We have stayed here before and it is just as good - if not better.
Martin & Lou treat you more like friends than paying guests and make you feel very welcome in the spotlessly clean and welcoming family home.
Breakfasts were fantastic and set us up for the long walk planned over the Long Mynd and beyond.
Also Lou did us a wonderful favour of finding my nieces i-pod that she had left at the railway station - thank-you Lou! This was above and beyond expectations - but made a sad little girl very happy! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireButtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here for just one night. Very nice, spotlessly clean, a nice room, very friendly,people with a lovely friendly dog. Would definately go back here. Only one thing was the poor picture on the TV. Although after a long day vising the beautiful countryside and an excellent curry in the local indian (5 min walk) couldn't watch TV very long just enjoyed a peaceful sleep.
Thank you both for everything. That breakfast kept us going all day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The Mount is 4-5 minutes walk from the centre of Church Stretton or the railway station. It is like a home stay - only 3 guest rooms, integrated with the rest of the house, and very friendly and hospitable owners who go out of their way to help. We had the Blue Room, which was spacious, clean, very nicely decorated, and well appointed. The normal sized double bed had crisp linens and, whilst a bit small for us after our king at home, would be fine for most people. The Blue Room has en suite bath and bidet, but no toilet - there is one purely for use by the room occupiers across the corridor. Slightly odd but perfectly acceptable. Breakfast is at a common table (nice if. like us, you like meeting new people) and was high standard - we had the vegetarian and another guest the bacon so both options were scored highly. Coffee also plentiful and good. A real highlight was the cosy lounge, which had newspapers (Mail and Telegraph) and a DVD player with a good choice of films. (There's also a small TV with DVD in the room). As hikers, on a very wet weekend, we also appreciated the drying facilities for wet gear. Hard to find a better place to stay anywhere at the price charged.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKoolKestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed at The Mount for 2 nights in August 2008. Louise and Martin, the hosts, were very welcoming and made sure we had absolutely everything we needed - and more! The attention to detail in the rooms and what was provided was really superb. Usually I am happy with a B&B if it is clean, has comfortable beds and is welcoming. Louise and Martin went the extra mile. The bedrooms are beautifully done and well catered for in terms of tea/coffee making facilities. Louise always made sure we had a flask of fresh milk when we came in from our walks and for first thing in the morning. Even the bedlinen and towels were of the highest quality. The breakfasts were great and plentiful. If you are in the area, do go and stay there - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Church Stretton hotels
1.2 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 22 in Church Stretton
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#14 of 22 in Church Stretton
117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Field House Guest House
Field House Guest House
#1 of 1 in Cardington
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfields Guesthouse
Brookfields Guesthouse
#4 of 22 in Church Stretton
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount B&B

Address: The Mount Sandford Avenue, Church Stretton SY6 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range: £65 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and relaxing early Edwardian family house has views across the valley and on to the Long Mynd. The Mount has 3 large high ceiling double bedrooms, ample space for parking and is situated only a 5 minute walk from the centre of Church Stretton and the Stretton Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mount B&B Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing