We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food good value for money”

The Pound at Leebotwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pound at Leebotwood is a 15th century thatched country pub and restaurant, situated in the heart of rural picturesque Shropshire countryside and is run by Neil & Sarah McCann. Our menu offers dishes created from fresh local ingredients, we use local and artisan suppliers, within a 30 mile radius where possible. Neil changes the menus in tune with the seasons, so there will always be something new on the menu. We offer a classic Sunday lunch menu every week, always serving three roasts along with elements of our menu to suit all tastes and appetites.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent food good value for money”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Have visited the restaurant twice this past month and found it to be an excellent choice. Food excellent flavours well presented and service good. Would highly recommend and visit it more often if I lived local.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    54
    20
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We heard The Pound had won an award so went with expectations - they lived up to every one with great food, lovely friendly staff and very reasonable prices for such a lovely meal. We'll be back very soon to test their Sunday lunch. Their wine list is good, and interesting, too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely setting”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We visited 'The Pound' for lunch today. The food was all home cooked, from fresh and was delicious! My husband had the local sausages and mash which was served with a rich onion gravy and freshly cooked veg. I had the goats cheese and melon which was beautifully presented and also delicious. The homemade ginger cake with toffee sauce was excellent. Would recommend this restaurant for good quality food and excellent service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bit of umph needed!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have eaten at The Pound many times as its local to us, but oh we feel so dispirited by it these days! The food is good and well cooked, and I know the ingredients are mostly locally sourced but it feels a little like you're having your tea around at your aunties or Nan's house! all good ingredients, but lacking lustre and a bit of razzamatazz. It felt too quiet,with muzak on in the background and just one other elderly couple having their early evening meal. It made us want to get in the car and head for the much more lively Shrewsbury or Ludlow to see if we could find some fun atmosphere.Nice food, but DULL!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shroppy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub, excellent food, great value”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Pity it was empty when we went but I can think of no reason why at all. It was a rainy day at the end of the month....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheaviatorShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pound at Leebotwood also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Little Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Pound at Leebotwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing