We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly welcome awaits you!”
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome awaits you!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Booked a three night stay for a group from Boston Ramblers occupying all the rooms and was not disappointed! From the moment we arrived on the Friday, Diane made us more than welcome; choice of teas, coffee etc.and freshly baked scones on arrival. The accommodation is beautiful, with lots of character, with every convenience....liked the little extras such as sherry in decanters in the rooms,breakfast with lots of choice (the french toast, caramalised bananas and creme frais was a nice change from English). The guest is so convenient for all amenities and an ideal base for wonderful walks!....we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midsummer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We must be doing something right, Midsummer63, as one of your walking party has already booked in again for August! But, seriously, Victoria House has a lovely feel to it and we all enjoy what we do, so hopefully that comes across to the guests. Thank you for your review, and we'll hopefully see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
106
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

we were booked into this lovely b and b by Celtic Trails (who organise distance walking, and are also a great company) and were really delighted by the beautiful house, on High Street in Church Stretton. Our room folowed the trend of the rest of the house by being in suberb Victorian style, althlough every feature of the room was also really up to date , including a first class separate bathroom with a great semi circular bath. Luxury! the welcome from our hostess, Diane was friendly and she did everything to make sure our four night stay was comfortable, and the breakfasts were suberb, with a great choice, including home made porridge, local honey and yogurt and delicious home made bread for toast. If you decide to visit Shropshire this is the place to stay.Church Stretton is a lovely quiet place but there are two or three excellent eating houses within 100 yards of Victoria House. the wonderful walks commence within three hundred yards of the house, so what could be better?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thanks Derry J, it makes it all worthwhile when we read comments like yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Had a lovely stay at Victoria House B&B in Church Stretton. It was the perfect location for three friends to get together for a reunion. The rooms were very comfortable and clean; the breakfast delicious (gluten free bread provided thank you) and the warm welcome made us feel right at home. Car parking pass was a welcome extra too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeolsAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thanks for your review MeolsAnnie, we try to cater for all dietary requirements and being in the centre of town a car parking pass is a must! Hopefully see you again when Jackie is back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned home to New York after a week at Victoria House with my husband and son. We had such a wonderful experience there--our room was lovely and comfy and we felt very much at home. The breakfasts were superb and we tried everything on the menu and each choice was delicious. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in Church Stretton.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiemersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thanks Jackiemersey, we loved having you; it was just like having my own family over for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have stayed in this location while visiting family before but this was the first time we stayed at Victoria House. This was an ideal location for us and good value as at the time we booked there was 20% off when you stayed 2 nights or more. A very friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: The only room available was Balmoral. Although the room was not ensuite the dressing room & show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
During our quiet season, which is December to February, we often offer discounts for mid-week stays of two nights or more. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the offer we ran earlier in the year and maybe we'll see you again when you next visit Church Stretton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I stayed in Victoria House as i was in church stretton on business, the room was booked by another for me. I was taken aback at how lovely this house is and received a warm, friendly welcome upon arrival and given a parking pass for the car park just across the road, great. I stayed in a beautiful room at the front of the house with a very spacious bathroom with bath. It had everything you would ever need, with lots of extra little touches to make your stay as comfortable and homely as you would want. Cosy dressing gowns, a lot of choice on tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Bed, so comfortable. I got a warm welcome in the morning with a menu choice of all things local. It is very clear to see a lot of love has gone into this house and business and would definately recommend anybody to stay here. Shame i could only stay the one night.

Room Tip: room at the front was a bit noisy with traffic but soon died down after 6.30pm. only to be expected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thanks BeverlieN, you are quite right, the external appearance of Victoria House doesn't adequately convey how comfortable the rooms are and (I like to think) how nicely they are presented. Since buying Victoria House in 2010, I have been constantly upgrading and refurbishing the property and I am only starting to be pleased with the results now! There is still so much more I want to do on the inside but unfortunately, there's not much I can do about the street frontage! Any ideas?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Charming rooms, clean, very comfortable with lovely little finishing touches that make your stay seem extra special. Food to a very high standard and nothing too much trouble. Great staff, warm friendly atmosphere. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthamptonLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thanks NorthamptonLinda. With comments like that, you're welcome back here anytime you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 48 High Street, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the High Street with its back garden overlooking the 11th-century church, this charming Victorian townhouse is central to local amenities yet only a few minutes' walk away from the surrounding Shropshire Hills. The six guest rooms are tastefully decorated and individually styled with careful attention to detail. VisitEngland has given Victoria House a 4-Star rating and a special Silver award for the high standard of its accommodation and it is a SILVER award member of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Delicious breakfasts are home-cooked using local produce. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing