We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Two of us stayed in the Durbar room for one night in June. It is stylishly furnished in a dark theme but unfortunately the bedroom has only one small window, with an undistinguished view from it. This results in a slightly dark and gloomy atmosphere. However, our main disappointment was with the breakfast: perhaps because it is served from 8.30 a.m., many guests, including ourselves, came down at that time. We were placed in the cafe (which is run by the owner) at the front of the property, which was cold (all but 2 other guests had breakfast in a dining room at the back). We served ourselves cereal and fruit juice from the dining room, after which coffee and tea were served. However, it wasn't until after 9 a.m. that our cooked breakfasts arrived. We felt this was an unacceptably long wait and, of course, the remains of our coffee and tea were cold by that time. The cooked breakfast itself was nothing special - certainly not 'amazing'.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterose49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
I am disappointed that you are disappointed; I just wish you’d mentioned it to me at the time which would have given me an opportunity to address some of your complaints. ‘Average’ is not what Victoria House is all about.

Breakfast did take an unusually long time on the morning you have reviewed but when you said “many guests … came down at that time” being 8.30am, actually all 11 guests came down at exactly that time! This is an unusual occurrence and, as one guest said afterwards, it was like a tour group getting off a bus! (This guest, by the way, wrote the glowing review below – same day, different guest, different experience…).

While we state that breakfasts are served between 8.30 and 9.30am, we don’t allocate a time that guests can come down for breakfast – it is entirely at their discretion. And, in the three years I have owned Victoria House, we have never had all guests come down to breakfast together! Furthermore, if guests wish an earlier breakfast, they only have to ask and they will be accommodated. We have now included this information in our confirmation e-mail.

We take particular care with our breakfasts at Victoria House, having won an award for the quality and breadth of our breakfast offering, and our breakfasts are cooked fresh to order. As a result, there is sometimes a wait while food is cooked and, in this instance, as you were the last to sit down to breakfast and therefore the last to order, your breakfast took the longest to be served. We agree with you; it is too long to wait, and I apologise now, as I did at the time.

Regarding Durbar, some people love that room and specifically request it - all of our rooms are individually decorated and have their own uniqueness - so maybe it is just finding one that suits you.

We value your opinion, but please come back one day and try our scrambled eggs and salmon, or French toast with bacon and bananas, or even our freshly cooked pain au chocolat or croissants and then you may gain an appreciation of our other guests’ comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have just stayed for 3 nights at this lovely B & B. Booking was easy, welcome from Diane was great, room very nicely done and comfortable. We were in the Osbourne room on the top floor (you need to be ok with stairs for this one) which has an excellent recently updated ensuite bathroom. Breakfasts were a fine selection of local produce and the cooked food to order was plentiful and tasty. The Victoria House is in a central location and Diane provides a free car park pass to use the public one just accross the road. There is a Marstons pub/hotel/restaurant next door and a good choice of eating places within walking distance. Scenery and countryside is great, popular with walkers and ideally located to explore Shropshire.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raydrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
All I can say is that we try really hard to make your stay pleasurable. Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments, Ray. We all appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Church Stretton is walkers' paradise. This B&B in the town's main street was an ideal base for our 3 day walking holiday. Our room, Florinda was decorated in mid-Victorian style with high ceilings, comfortably furnished with a good bathroom en-suite. We had views of the High Street and the hills beyond. Breakfast ws individually cooked to a high standard. The owner was very helpful and efficient and her staff friendly. We spent a sunny afternoon in the delightful tea garden at the rear. The place was well equipped with local guide books and maps and was obviously geared to ctering for walkers like us who come to the town to climb the Mynd and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your comments, John J. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We cam across this B and B while wandering around in the time and couldn't believe our luck that there was a spare room. Everything was fantastic - really friendly staff, comfy bed and great room, and an AMAZING breakfast !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks Rachel G, look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had a 7 mile walk in the Longmynds and then headed to Victoria House and a warm welcome there with a complimentary cream tea. Beautiful house and fab breakfast and service and only wish we had time to stay longer.

Room Tip: We had the Florinda room, lovely large bathroom and room was really pretty in terms of decor and fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesle528767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
You'll just have to come back for another visit, lesle528767!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

All the rooms have real character, with much care taken over the details. Victoria House is very friendly and well-organised, with great breakfast choices - and complimentary cakes in the afternoon.
10 of us took over the whole hotel and it was really relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for booking your group into Victoria House, Peter W, and taking the time to write a review about your visit. Hopefully, we will see all, or some, of you again soon - there's probably about another ten walks you didn't do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

A group of us stayed for three nights. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast delicious and the ambience friendly. It's difficult to imagine a nicer place to stay. It's right in the middle of town and great value for money. What sets it apart from other B&B is the care and attention to detail. I loved the nice fluffy bathrobes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thanks rdh60, our breakfasts always seem to get a mention in most reviews so maybe that's what keeps people coming back! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#2 of 23 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 48 High Street, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the High Street with its back garden overlooking the 11th-century church, this charming Victorian townhouse is central to local amenities yet only a few minutes' walk away from the surrounding Shropshire Hills. The six guest rooms are tastefully decorated and individually styled with careful attention to detail. VisitEngland has given Victoria House a 4-Star rating and a special Silver award for the high standard of its accommodation and it is a SILVER award member of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Delicious breakfasts are home-cooked using local produce. Free 24-hour parking in the Easthope Road car park which is situated directly opposite Victoria House. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing