We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just returned from a walking weekend in Shropshire and we stayed at the most wonderful bed and breakfast.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and it felt like nothing was too much trouble. Our room the Durbar was excellent Clean and very comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent and such a variety of choices The full english was just what I needed to set me up for a days walking.
The house is in an ideal situation for easy acces to the pub and other restraunts.
I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
106
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This B&B is lovely, and very conveniently situated in the heart of Church Stretton. Diane makes you feel welcome with a cup of tea and a scone in the beautiful little garden at the back on arrival.

The room was very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was great! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Victoria House with our 2 young boys. Diane has created a truly unique beautiful B&b here, authentic Victorian decor in rooms, fabulously atmospheric, with very non-Victorian (!) lovely contemporary en-suites. We stayed in Florinda & Osborne rooms....really big comfortable beds, spotlessly clean, all tea, coffee, biscuits you may want. Lovely warm welcome & can't even begin to tell you how great the breakfasts are, all local produce, whatever you could possibly want is there. Its all this and Diane's attention to detail which makes everything so special, from sherry in cut glass decanters, to proper tea in proper china cups, these and a hundred and one other things we very much appreciated. Thank you so much for a lovely stay, Diane, a real highlight to our holiday! Quick note to families, we had a great afternoon swimming in local indoor pool, well worth a visit if a bit rainy of an afternoon, deep end & lifeguards encouraging jumping in, our boys loved it! Also ate once at Hausmans bar...brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rie1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

What a great experience. Diane greeted us warmly and helped us securely store our bicycles, then showed us to our lovely, lovely room - Florinda. I am happy to report that it lives up to it's description on the website, as does the breakfast - the reviews of which made me book in the first place. Diane is clearly a gifted cook, she likes trying out new recipes and everything was made to order. First an excellent choice of fresh fruits, cereals and fruit juices, then freshly cooked porridge (very good, this - I was a bit wary, because it can be quite stodgy, but Diane's was creamy and light), followed by the pièce de résistance - French Toast with Caramelised bananas and crème fraiche. I'm salivating just thinking about it - perfect. My husband had an omelette (I know!) - and actually that was also very good (I had to taste it, obviously).

I just wish we had been able to stay longer. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Whichever you fancy - I had a sneak look at three of them, and they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primroselil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Victoria House is one of those rare gems, welcoming, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Diane and her team began our stay with a very welcome complimentary cream tea in the garden. Nothing was too much trouble and our room ( Albert) was spotless with extremely comfortable beds, the view was lovely, looking over the pretty garden and Church of St Lawrence. Breakfast was a real treat and catered for all tastes.

It would have been nice to have had towelling robes instead of fleece, but that was a very tiny incidental quibble in what was an excellant weekend.

We shall look forward to our next visit with pleasure.

Thank you Diane & Team

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieparry226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Victoria house and found everything excellent. A spotlessly clean room,with a very comfortable bed and a warm welcome from Diane and her staff.Breakfast was exceptional with a great choice of freshly cooked local produce.
Church Stretton is a great place to stay,a lovely small town,surrounded by beautiful countryside.
All in all an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Central, yet quiet. Beautifully furnished and peaceful garden area. A lovely cup of tea and friendly smile greeted us on arrival which was very welcome on a hot day. The beds were extremely comfortable and breakfast was a great feast. Highly recommended. We stayed as part of our Golden Wedding anniversary celebrations and were delighted with everything. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 48 High Street, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the High Street with its back garden overlooking the 11th-century church, this charming Victorian townhouse is central to local amenities yet only a few minutes' walk away from the surrounding Shropshire Hills. The six guest rooms are tastefully decorated and individually styled with careful attention to detail. VisitEngland has given Victoria House a 4-Star rating and a special Silver award for the high standard of its accommodation and it is a SILVER award member of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Delicious breakfasts are home-cooked using local produce. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing