We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polished, up-market B&B”
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Polished, up-market B&B”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great welcome to generous and tasteful accommodation, spotlessly clean and very calming. The location is central and convenient for all village shops and pubs. A disturbed night due to the church bells however. Breakfast was ample and enjoyable. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My 70th birthday, my daughters paid for a weekend away for my wife and I, they booked us into the Victoria. Loved it! Very warm welcome, beautifully decorated and very comfortable room. Tea/coffee biscuits etc all available, plus a decanter with several glasses of dry sherry!! Breakfast brilliant...lots of lovely local produce (bacon, sausage, eggs, bread), and none of your usual plastic thingys of jam...no....help yourself to jars of local jam...and some very special and unusual ones too! We only live about 30 mins drive away, but it was so nice to have a really relaxed weekend with walks in Cardingmill Valley, and then driving up over the Burway, down to Bridges, and over the Stiperstones, an area we know well and love. Sunday morning to the car boot sale at Harry Tuffins in Churchstoke, always an experience! Highly recommended B&B...thank you Diane

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawleymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First off, i would like to say I was very warmly welcomed to Victoria House and was looked after throughout my stay, from the lovely complimentary coffees to the delicious scones and pastries made on site. The room was comfortable and the bed was clean and soft. The view from my room was quaint and picturesque. But the only thing that bothered me was the church bell ringing throughout the night! It drove me crazy! This was not there fault and if you are a light sleeper this will not be a problem, I am a light sleeper unfotunately so will have to have a room facing the other direction next time! Would highly reccommend but take some good ear plugs :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just returned from a short visit to this delightful Shropshire town, where the B&B I chose was really first-rate - in the centre of town and within easy reach of magnificent walking country. My room, The Snug, had a postcard view of the church. The room itself was elegant and comfortable - great hospitality tray and good fast broadband. The friendliness of the owner and staff made me so welcome throughout my all-too-brief stay. Worth special mention are the breakfasts - the fabulous fruit compote, the locally sourced bacon and sausages ... I know a thing or two about sausages, but these were in a league of their own!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianfromcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed in the Florinda room and I have to admit it was the best nights sleep I've ever had. The bathroom was spotless! Diane was welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious with a relaxing atmosphere, I would definitely visit Victoria House again. Thank you Diane!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracedufeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I love everything about this b&b (almost a hotel, with its own sweet breakfast room, great restaurant, and central location). Loved my room (the Balmoral) --spacious, with separate big private bathroom; the fabulous breakfasts -- featuring the best local fare; the generous-hearted host -- 7 am breakfast on my last day, plus a ride to the train station. And really, why not provide 8 packets of milk in your room for tea, except that no-one else ever does! I will never stay anywhere else in Church Stretton again.

Room Tip: Host says front rooms may be quieter because of church bells at the back. But really, who minds a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have booked rooms for several of my colleagues at Victoria House over the last 3 months and have had nothing but fantastic feedback about Diane and the wonderful B&B she runs.

From the beautiful, individually decorated rooms (each team member had their favourite!) to the delicious, plentiful breakfasts.

Of the 12 colleagues that stayed at Victoria House, every one of them spoke highly of their experience.

Thank you Diane and I look forward to arranging a visit myself soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
240 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 48 High Street, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the High Street with its back garden overlooking the 11th-century church, this charming Victorian townhouse is central to local amenities yet only a few minutes' walk away from the surrounding Shropshire Hills. The six guest rooms are tastefully decorated and individually styled with careful attention to detail. VisitEngland has given Victoria House a 4-Star rating and a special Silver award for the high standard of its accommodation and it is a SILVER award member of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Delicious breakfasts are home-cooked using local produce. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing